Replacing Inspiron 531 PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2011, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default Replacing Inspiron 531 PSU

Hi guys, I'm new to this forum and need some help please! I bought this graphics card off of ebay a couple days ago: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150570, and didn't realize that my power supply is only 300w and that it required 400w minimum. One question I have is whether the inspiron 531 psu is proprietary or not. Will these ones I found on ebay fit? Also, are they reliable?? (eBay - New & used electronics, cars, apparel, collectibles, sporting goods & more at low prices) (eBay - New & used electronics, cars, apparel, collectibles, sporting goods & more at low prices). I'd like to be certain about my options before I purchase. Any help provided is greatly appreciated. Thank you!
__________________

Nshimley is offline  
Old 11-24-2011, 01:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Replacing Inspiron 531 PSU

Add the link to the graphics card.
__________________

__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 11-24-2011, 02:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: Replacing Inspiron 531 PSU

I edited my post but here it is, sorry! Newegg.com - XFX PV-T96O-YHFC GeForce 9600 GSO 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
Nshimley is offline  
Old 11-24-2011, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Replacing Inspiron 531 PSU

I would buy a psu off newegg from a reputable brand, rather than a Dell replacement. It doesn't look like it's proprietary, they've been using standard ATX psu's in their main line desktops for a while now so you should be ok.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing a CPU steves85 System Upgrades 4 09-07-2010 10:18 AM
What needs replacing??? asandhu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-28-2010 11:03 AM
Replacing CPU chump New Systems | Building and Buying 6 08-28-2009 01:34 AM
I Need Help With Replacing My RAM FarPastGone Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 07-07-2005 01:07 PM
after replacing my HDD :| DiscJockey Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 02-01-2005 03:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.