Replacing HDD with SSD in Dell laptop, worried about Windows activation ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2015, 09:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Multicore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 101
Default Replacing HDD with SSD in Dell laptop, worried about Windows activation ?

I have recently ordered SAMSUNG 850 PRO 2.5" 512GB SATA III MZ-7KE512BW (not from newegg). It is expected on 30th Dec. I have a Dell Inspiron 15 5000 series laptop. I plan to replace its 1TB HDD with the Samsung SSD. The laptop came with OEM Win8 & I upgraded to Win10 via internet. After the upgrade i will make a clean install of Win10 on the SSD via USB flash drive. I have some questions:

1. How to activate Win10 ?
(in case, if it asks for a activation key, since product key tools only show generic keys & what happens if it does not accept an OEM key)

2. Is this External Hard Drive Enclosure good enough to use the removed HDD ?
(need suggestions here, if there are better enclosures or if an all Aluminum enclosure is better for better heat dissipation)

3. Was it a good decision to go with Samsung PRO instead of Samsung EVO ? (in light of the fact that PRO is a bit expensive than EVO)
__________________

Multicore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 09:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Replacing HDD with SSD in Dell laptop, worried about Windows activation ?

No point getting Pro over EVO, to answer that question.

Easiest way is to clone the drive then use Windows 10 reset option to make a clean install.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 09:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Replacing HDD with SSD in Dell laptop, worried about Windows activation ?

1. Just use the Media Creation tool to create a Win10 install disc, and install it. It will auto-activate once you're connected to the internet and matches your hardware ID to what you used when you first upgraded to Win10. Just skip the screen to enter in a product key during install.

2. Careful with cheapo enclosures - I've had bad luck with some in the past.

3. Like PP said, not much point in going Pro over EVO.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 09:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Multicore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 101
Default Re: Replacing HDD with SSD in Dell laptop, worried about Windows activation ?

Thanks for the quick reply. Will try the clone & reset option (w/o selecting the Recover disk signature check box while cloning).
Multicore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 10:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Replacing HDD with SSD in Dell laptop, worried about Windows activation ?

^ Clone shouldn't be necessary if you've already upgraded to Win10 and are planning to do a clean install anyway.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 10:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Multicore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 101
Default Re: Replacing HDD with SSD in Dell laptop, worried about Windows activation ?

1.Thanks for mentioning the auto-activation. The laptop does not have an ODD, so will clean-install via USB flash drive. If it doesn't, will try the clone & reset option.

2. Any suggestions for enclosure ?
(cost of enclosure is nothing compared to the cost of data on the HDD contained within - I've read about those stories of bad luck)

3. Damn it !!! I could have saved $35 with EVO. Should have posted before
Multicore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 04:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Replacing HDD with SSD in Dell laptop, worried about Windows activation ?

I bought this enclosure and will be buying this one strictly in the future. I have several different enclosures but this one feels like the best to me.

Amazon.com: StarTech.com 2.5in SuperSpeed USB 3.0 SSD SATA Hard Drive Enclosure: Computers & Accessories
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 09:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Multicore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 101
Default Re: Replacing HDD with SSD in Dell laptop, worried about Windows activation ?

Thanks, will get this since the other one is >$100.

Also, could you suggest any tips or article to get the most out of the SSD, while also taking care of its health/life ?
Multicore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 10:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Replacing HDD with SSD in Dell laptop, worried about Windows activation ?

The one I linked is USD, was just giving an example.

Don't worry about it. Windows 10 will take care of TRIM for you.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 11:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Multicore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 101
Default Re: Replacing HDD with SSD in Dell laptop, worried about Windows activation ?

Thanks to both PPMguire & carnageX. Hope this goes well.
__________________

Multicore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD, 500 GB HDD & 250 GB HDD setup mwwwilson System Upgrades 6 12-14-2013 02:58 PM
Good SSD and bad HDD vs one good HDD Geoman37 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-30-2013 04:37 PM
windows activation (27-days left for activation) submarenuhon Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 09-24-2012 04:58 PM
HDD to SSD migration: mirror or clone HDD or reinstall everything fresh hyongx New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-29-2011 05:16 PM
Can you have a SSD 60GB as a boot drive and a 500GB HDD for storage but have smart response enabled on the SSD? matteuk New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-27-2011 01:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.