Replaced mobo, cpu, graphics card, RAM -- now won't boot past Safe Mode screen. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2011, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Angry Replaced mobo, cpu, graphics card, RAM -- now won't boot past Safe Mode screen.

So I'm working on my mother's computer (Win XP SP2), and I've upgraded the motherboard, proc, graphics card, and RAM. When I try to boot it up, everything seems normal until I get the screen saying Windows was not properly shut down, and it suggests I boot into Safe Mode (with networking, prompt, etc.) or boot normally. When I choose any of the above options, it just reboots.

Any ideas what could be causing this? Before the upgrade, all the boot screens were showing garbled text, and the computer would not boot into Windows XP. I thought this would be the GPU gone bad, since the fan bearing was totally burnt out and no longer working. But, I upgraded all the rest too since it was about a 8-10 year old computer. The only quirky thing I can think of is I'm using a 420W ATX power supply that I had to put on a 20-to-24 pin adapter onto, since I read that the additional 4 pins power the PCIE card (I thought this was causing the no-boot initially, but with the adapter, still no go).

Here is what I have put in the computer:

ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 AM3 AMD 880G SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor ADX640WFGMBOX

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL

MSI R4350-MD512H Radeon HD 4350 512MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

Rosewill 7.8" EATX power supply 24P Male to ATX 20P Female motherboard Cable Model RCW-304

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Snoobies is offline  
Old 08-24-2011, 06:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
Roark's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,351
Default Re: Replaced mobo, cpu, graphics card, RAM -- now won't boot past Safe Mode screen.

1) Was Windows reinstalled after the upgrades, or did you just plug the hard drive back in?
Windows may be freaking out because its expecting the old hardware.

2) Is it a full retail copy of Windows, or an OEM version?
If it is OEM the license is tied to the old motherboard.

If you have another machine you can plug the hard drive in to I'd do so. Pull all of the files off that she would want to save (pictures, etc) then format it. Plug it back in to the upgraded system and do a clean install of Windows, if you have the full retail version.

Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 08-24-2011, 06:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952
Default Re: Replaced mobo, cpu, graphics card, RAM -- now won't boot past Safe Mode screen.

You could also perform a repair install of XP as it sits right now. You will have to reactivate it afterwards.

If it is an OEM version it is as Roark said. You can't legally move it to another motherboard.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't boot into safe mode or from cd, blinking cursor on black screen KatNelson7717 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 03-29-2010 03:41 PM
Can't Boot Into Safe Mode--Blue Screen Of Death Maceface Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 03-13-2010 09:06 AM
Cannot boot in Safe Mode enigm@tic Microsoft Windows and Software 20 07-04-2008 12:50 AM
can only boot in safe mode masume Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-16-2006 12:34 AM
how do you boot up in safe mode GrimReaper23 System Upgrades 2 11-20-2005 11:49 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.