Removing cap/jumper on Seagate 250gb HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2008, 11:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
Default Removing cap/jumper on Seagate 250gb HD

Hey guys, I was looking at my hard drive and saw that it says 1.5/3.0 on the hard drive. There is a jumper blocking 2 of the pins, so I can only get 1.5

My question is, how do you remove the jumper?

Thanks,
Kenny
__________________

KennyD is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Removing cap/jumper on Seagate 250gb HD

Get a tweezer or use your fingernails. Cmon, we're human: gotta figure out a way. Hope your build is going well.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Removing cap/jumper on Seagate 250gb HD

The simple answer to that is Sata II drives come with the jumper set to default. That enables all modes while moving the jumper changes the maximum to a different mode.

I wouldn't get bent out of shape anyways since the ATA limitations are still seen on Sata drives even while being on a faster bus simply due to hardware constraints at the present time. A new type of storage method would be the means to see the real benefit of the faster bus if another wasn't already developed for anything new by that time.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 01:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
Default Re: Removing cap/jumper on Seagate 250gb HD

Hey by the way guys, I did not receive any cables with this hard drive, all I got was a HD. It was from new egg.

What cables do I need to hook up this hard drive? Please help me out..
KennyD is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 01:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Removing cap/jumper on Seagate 250gb HD

You need an SATA cable and the power plug from the PSU. The SATA cable should be included with your motherboard. Look in that box.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 04:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Removing cap/jumper on Seagate 250gb HD

you can either use sata power if your psu has it or 4pin molex
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 08:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
Default Re: Removing cap/jumper on Seagate 250gb HD

yeah my corsair 450w ps has a SATA connector, is that all I need?

The sata cable that came with my mobo (2) doesnt fit it. It fits my optical drive though.

How does that connect to my motherboard? I am lost guys


*edit*
I thought I'd need a cord to connect to the motherboard. the sata cable does not fit, it's L shaped and it doesn't fit onto the hard drive

I am definately confused...
KennyD is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 09:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Removing cap/jumper on Seagate 250gb HD

Suppose to be like this:



And the port on the motherboard, that you're suppose to connect the SATA data cable (interface connector), looks like these blue ports:

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 12:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
TY, May I have another?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 628
Default Re: Removing cap/jumper on Seagate 250gb HD

ya, it should fit, unless you bought a Ultra-ATA or IDE drive,
__________________
Intel e6750 @ 3.2ghz
4GB Gskill HZ's @ 1066, 5-5-5-14
XFX GTX 260
EVGA 680i
Lian Li Pc-A05
TRUE Black Edition, lapped to almost mirror finish.
SHaTTaFaKKaP is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 12:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Removing cap/jumper on Seagate 250gb HD

It should fit. Try turning it around 180 degrees, lol.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gettin 2 seagate 250gb sata2's. raid setup help melioz New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-03-2008 09:39 AM
Seagate HDD jumper trouble DJ EndurancE System Upgrades 8 02-09-2008 03:25 PM
Removing NewDotNet/Other Stuff Cory-O Viruses, Spyware and Malware 18 01-04-2008 10:53 PM
FS: Seagate 250GB SATAII Ronnie Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 11-12-2007 11:47 PM
FS Seagate 250GB SATA HDD Ronnie Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 10-11-2007 10:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.