Reintallation CD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2006, 03:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default Reinstallation CD

I just bought a laptop from dell and I was wondering if I should pay the extra $10 and get the windows reinstallation CD? Also will reformatting the HD clear all the junk (useless software) that comes with the laptop? Could someone explain to me how this reformatting works?
__________________

__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

anyone?
__________________

__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

no way a windows cd will cost you only 10$ , your talking on the restore cd , the restore cd contains a compressed disk image with a program that formats the main partition and restores it , basicly that disk image contains windows/softwares/drivers,it restores it to "as shipped" condition just like you got it , with all that "useless software" :amazed:
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 06:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

So even if I had the restore CD I wouldnt be able to have a clean HD without the annoying softwares? If thats true, then I shouldnt waste the $10 on the restore CD?
__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 06:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

As jk88 said it's most likely going to be an OEM cd with just an image of the PC at factory state.

Plus, I would imagine you're able to create a set of recovery CD's yourself.

Usually, if the manufacturer doesn't supply you with recovery CDs and your system has a pre-installed OEM operating system, the manufacturer provides you with an application capable of creating a set of recovery CDs (or DVDs). But this is only common if your system has some kind of recovery partition on the hard drive.

Do you have a recovery partition, or a way of burning your own recovery discs?

If not (then shame on dell for making it's consumers cough up more money), and I'd buy a recovery CD...might be useful in the future
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 07:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

Sorry I'm not really skilled with computers and I am sort of confused. So basically the CD that dell offers for $10 is the same as burning your own recovery CD's from an application?

Also I am not sure if my laptop has a recovery parition. How can I tell if my laptop has the capability to burn recovery CD's or not? Is there any way to tell?
__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 07:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Usually, the company will provide an Image of Windows XP CD on the hard drive.

Burn the ISO using Nero, which should come pre-installed, or a ISO burner, and burn the files to a cheap $0.50 CDR
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 07:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 96
Default

Do you know where the image of windows xp is on the computer to burn? Is there a set place where it is usually located or do I have to search for it?
__________________
Time passes, will you?

AMD Athlon 64 3300+ 2.4 Ghz
2GB DDR 3200 SDRAM
160 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
Nvidia Geforce 6200
jk88 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 07:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Just Googled and found this:

https://webapp.lasalle.edu/supportsu...kbarticleid=36
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 08:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Usually, the company will provide an Image of Windows XP CD on the hard drive.
incorrect , no company will ever provide that , some will provide a restore partition kinda like the restore cd but not in all cases

Quote:
Originally posted by jk88
Also I am not sure if my laptop has a recovery parition
goto start-->settings-->control panel-->administrative tools-->computer mangement-->disk managment , and take a screenshot
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.