Reformatting a new Acer laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2007, 02:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default Reformatting a new Acer laptop

Just recently got my New laptop(Acer TM4233)
And it has a Partition (35GB, Half of the space) Used for Acerdata(backup).
It also uses FAT32.
Can anyone see a problem in me reformatting completely, and making it a single drive.
Will I have to use a special Acer copy of XP Pro like the Laptop with supplied with for the serial number to work, Or can I just use a normal XP Pro?
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 04:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default

I can't see why you wouldn't be able to just use a regular XP Pro for it. You'd think it would be the same thing. But don't take my word on it...
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 04:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: Reformatting a new Acer laptop

Quote:
Originally posted by Chris_PC
Just recently got my New laptop(Acer TM4233)
And it has a Partition (35GB, Half of the space) Used for Acerdata(backup).
It also uses FAT32.
Can anyone see a problem in me reformatting completely, and making it a single drive.
Will I have to use a special Acer copy of XP Pro like the Laptop with supplied with for the serial number to work, Or can I just use a normal XP Pro?
You can use a regular xpp. But I don't recommend you to remove that partition, it can be useful, if any virus or something/somebody attack your computer.
tkazmer is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 05:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

I would be doing regular backups anyway, Id just do it as I do on my PC.
I find that partition a waste of space, and It would also be nice to get rid of all the Built in Acer ****.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 09:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

You'll be fine using Windows XP Pro. As long as you have a Windows installation CD. You'll be fine, you won't need that wasted partition.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 01:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default

make sure you have drivers for all your hardware.
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 02:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

I bought an Acer laptop recently. It came with an OEM version of Windows XP Media Centre Edition preinstalled, and the drive had an Acer backup partition (in case I wanted to restore my system to factory state). But I didn't want an Acer Backup partition wasting space, so I formatted the hard drive entirely, and installed Windows XP defining my own partitions.

As with most systems with preinstalled operating systems, if the laptop didn't come with a recovery disc, then you'll want to burn some, before you format, just in case.

On Acer systems, there should be a utility instaled on the system called Acer eRecovery, part of the Acer Empowering Platform. You can create a set of recovery discs using this utility, but this is up to you.

If you're going delete your Windows partition, and install Windows XP again, then there's no point in keeping the Acer backup partition because acer recovery wouldn't work anymore anyway.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 04:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 154
Default

The Acer disk you are referring to only works on your machine Dell does the same thing but you can use the normal Windows XP or Vista disk and install it on your computer
__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Xion Solaris Black/Green Mid ATX Case w/Neon Glow
Intel 975XBX2KR Intel Socket 775 ATX -Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Kingston Dual Channel HyperX 2048MB DDR2 800MHz
Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA Hard Drive
BFG GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB PCI-E Dual DVI/HDTV/HDCP Enabled Video Card
Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCI Sound Card
Sony DVD Burner and Sony 1.44 MB Floppy Drive
24" Samsung LCD TV/Monitor
Ioanni is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 11:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Just make sure to get the drivers in advanced so you don't end up screwed.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 04:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

It wont void the warranty will it.
Also, The Key I was provided with wont work on a Normal copy of XP will it?
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.