Reformatting and installing OS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2007, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Reformatting and installing OS

I have to reformat my laptop due to an unforunate virus, but I can't find the original windows XP installation CD/DVD.
Can I use any other windows XP's recovery CD/DVD or installation CD/DVD for it? I still have my desktop one, I'm hoping it will work, since I don't use and haven't used the desktop in months now.

Also, can I use that recovery/installation CD/DVD to instal a working OS on a hard drive without an OS?
__________________

RisingFalls is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 01:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Reformatting and installing OS

Hello,

What edition of Windows XP do you have on your laptop?

What edition of Windows XP is the installation disc?

Do you have a Certificate of Authenticity label on the underside of your laptop / Product Key?

The Windows XP installation CD will need to be the same edition as the OS you currently have on your laptop, otherwise you won't be able to use the Product Key on the COA label.

Also, what laptop do you have? And has it ever been formatted? I ask because nearly all laptops sold don't come with a recovery disc or OS installation CD, because the OS is a preinstalled and OEM. Commonly, the hard drive has a 'recovery partition' where the user can restore the system to a factory state, and the user is usually forced to burn a set of recover discs themselves.

If you have a retail Windows XP installation CD, then yes, you can use that disc to install Windows XP on any PC. However, you can't use the same product key on all machines. Each PC will need it's own product key.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 03:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Reformatting and installing OS

They are both XP Home Edition.

I have a certificate of authenticity on the desktop one.

The laptop is a Dell, not very good, the desktop one is a Vaio from Sony. To my knowledge it has never been formatted before.

I don't have the retail version of Windows XP, I am asking if the recovery disk I have now will work to install Windows XP Home Edition on a hard drive, using the key that came with it on a computer I am not using. The key is not my concern at the moment. I can buy windows XP Home Edition again and wait for Vista to improve, I guess.
RisingFalls is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 04:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Reformatting and installing OS

Hello,

Alright. Unfortunately, you can't use recovery discs intended for your Sony desktop, on your Dell laptop.

You will need to get hold of a retail version of Windows XP Home Edition, or a set of recovery discs for your particular laptop.

What Dell laptop do you have?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 04:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 79
Default Re: Reformatting and installing OS

If you do have your product key, give dell a call and see if they can get you an extra disk.
ZenOswyn is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 05:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Orono
Posts: 67
Default Re: Reformatting and installing OS

The product key should be stuck to the bottom of your laptop. Dell or Windows should be able to send you a new disk for cheap. The key is where they make all the money.
Which brings up a question I have. Is it legal to download an image of the Windows disk as long as you have your product key? or for any product that requires an activation key of some sort?
Sorry to take this off from his topic.
jebathan is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 05:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Reformatting and installing OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by jebathan View Post
The product key should be stuck to the bottom of your laptop. Dell or Windows should be able to send you a new disk for cheap. The key is where they make all the money.
Which brings up a question I have. Is it legal to download an image of the Windows disk as long as you have your product key? or for any product that requires an activation key of some sort?
Sorry to take this off from his topic.

Yes it is.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 05:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: Reformatting and installing OS

I'll try emailing Microsoft, for the laptop.
Maybe I'll try that for the desktop too, an installation disk using the cd key of my desktop, saying it wasn't working. Seeing as how it isn't, to be true.
__________________

RisingFalls is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.