reformat hdd? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2008, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Default reformat hdd?

Hey guys, I have a seagate barracuda 160gb hard drive from an old computer of mine that i intend to use as an external hdd for my new computer, now here's my question....I was looking at some 3.5" enclosures on Newegg and i read on some reviews that you had to reformat the harddrive inorder to use the enclosure, the particular one i am talkin bout is this one, - Galaxy METAL GEAR Metal Gear Box II 3506UC-Black 3.5" Black USB 2.0 External Enclosure - External Enclosures

So my question, can i use my old hdd in an external enclosure without having to lose all it's contents if so, can you suggest a 3.5" enclosure that would allow me to keep all my stuff.... thanks a lot guys

gu_10 is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
carnageX's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,147
Default Re: reformat hdd?

I don't see why you would need to format it... are they talking about a brand new OEM drive that needs to be formatted?

Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: reformat hdd?

well im not sure, but what i understood from the consumer reviews was i believe some of the cheaper models required that the harddrive be formatted in order for the computer to recognize it or something like that...
gu_10 is offline  
Old 05-21-2008, 01:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
ohGrFreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: reformat hdd?

It shouldn't matter at all, I have two different external enclosures and my computers have read all sorts of HDD's from them both, formatted, unformatted, some with o/s's installed even.
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Data On My HDD Be Recovered? laffers Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-26-2008 02:21 AM
How to made XP add SATA-II HDD to hardware list ? goo_lu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2008 11:00 AM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 01:04 AM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 07:56 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 09:35 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.