Recommend a brand computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2006, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 50
Default Recommend a brand computer

First off, please...I ask, please do not tell me to build my own. I understand building is the best way to go, but in my case right now, I will need a good and reliable brand name computer for the time being.

I'm looking for something that's around or sub $500 and can be easily upgraded in the near future.

Thanks.
__________________

newton is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 09:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

"Reliable brand" + "sub $500"

Can those two terms coexist?

Cheapest reliable computer I can recommend is the Mac Mini, and the low-end model is $599.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 09:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 50
Default

I'm looking at emachines. Good, bad?

It doesn't have to be dead on reliable, just reliable enough so it doesn't crash every other month.
newton is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 09:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Not so good. I've had less than good experience with their machines until I literally rebuilt them. It would've been cheaper for me to build...
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 09:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by newton
I'm looking at emachines. Good, bad?

It doesn't have to be dead on reliable, just reliable enough so it doesn't crash every other month.
Emachines is better then dell. I use to have a gateway, it was pretty good.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 09:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Calibretto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 133
Default

Dell has one for $300 but it sucks. There next cheapest one I think is around $500. It's not bad.
__________________
- Gigabyte P35-S3G
- Q6600 @ 2.40GHz | Cooler Master GeminII
- 4GB OCZ Platinum @ 800MHz
- XFX 9800GT | Zalman VF1000 Cooler
- Antec Three Hundred Case | Antec NeoPower 380W PSU
- Acer 22" Widescreen LCD (1680x1050)

- Best 3DMark06 Score: 15109

PM me when you have read this.
Calibretto is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 09:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Sorry, but in my book Dell is not synonomous with "reliable", especially after the bad cap incident, and some of the other things I've seen them do (except the middle and almost-high end laptops...they aren't bad...)
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 10:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...uct_Code=90371

something along the lines of that... look around that site for other systems..
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 11:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

WHOA! i just build a computer on monarch with the same specs as im getting here in canada, and it turned out to cost about $2500 i think without tax in USD. whereas it would cost me $2500 CDN still without tax, but thats still a big difference. i had to go through 30 store sites to get the best prices, but it pays off.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 11:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

i guess monarch doesn't have that great of prices then...
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.