Rebuilding a PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2006, 06:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default Rebuilding a PC


Hi there everyone.

One of my older computers which for some reason i use more then the other computers so i decide that i should fix it up.

Here is the specs of this computer right now (This is a oldie but it works fine)

Computer:
Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack: Service Pack 2
DirectX: 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)

Motherboard:
CPU Type: Intel Pentium IIIE, 750 MHz (7.5 x 100)
Motherboard Name: Asus P3B-F (4 DIMM)
Motherboard Chipset: Intel 82440BX
System Memory: 1024 MB (SDRAM)
BIOS Type: Award Medallion (10/15/01)
Communication Port: Communications Port (COM1)

Display:
Video Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 (Microsoft Corporation) (64 MB)
3D Accelerator: nVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440
Monitor: HP F1703 [17" LCD] (CNCHW0Y803)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter: Creative SB Live! Player 1024 Sound Card

Storage:
IDE Controller: Intel(R) 82371AB/EB PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
SCSI/RAID Controller: SCSI/RAID Host Controller
SCSI/RAID Controller: VAX347S SCSI Controller
Floppy Drive: Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive: ST340015A (40 GB, 5400 RPM, Ultra-ATA/100)
Disk Drive: WDC WD600JB-00CRA1 (55 GB, IDE)
Optical Drive: DVDRW IDE1004 (DVD+RW:4x/4x, DVD-RW:4x/2x, DVD-ROM:12x, CD:40x/24x/40x DVD+RW/DVD-RW)
Optical Drive: PHILIPS DVD+-RW DVD8631 (DVD+R9:2.4x, DVD+RW:16x/4x, DVD-RW:8x/4x, DVD-ROM:16x, CD:40x/24x/40x DVD+RW/DVD-RW)
SMART Hard Disks Status: OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS): 57231 MB (6113 MB free)
D: (NTFS): 38154 MB (19268 MB free)
Total Size: 93.1 GB (24.8 GB free)

Input:
Keyboard: Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse: PS/2 Compatible Mouse

Network:
Network Adapter: Intel(R) PRO/100 S Desktop Adapter
Modem: U.S. Robotics 56K Voice PCI
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now i was trying to keep all of my SDRAM because i dont want to spend any money on that when i have 1GB of ram in my hand. So i was trying to see what kinda motherboard or what should i actually get to make it more better?

Also i do have a P4 CPU chip that is 1.8 i was thinking of using it.
even something like this would make it better right?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135013

Or should i leave it like it is and try this thing i found out
http://strattoncomputer.stores.yahoo.net/sl1adup.html
(and i dont really know to much about that thing)

Anyway if someone can help me out that would be great, thanx

Picture of Motherboard Looks like

http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/1...oardbig7fs.jpg
__________________

Dragonbssj is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 07:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

from the looks of your picture, you have PC133 SDRAM, not PC2700 so I don't think the mobo you pocked would work with your current stuff. I found this, but not sure what socket your 1.8 is...

http://www.gearxs.com/gearxs/product...oducts_id=4653

What is your budget? it might be better to take all the pariph's out of your sstem and get a new core. (mobo/CPU/video) and put the rest of the parts back in.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-14-2006, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

seems to me there is very little you can do.

if you wanna get away with spending very little.. do something like this...

http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16813135011

http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16819104301

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141225

total: $161.98
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
from the looks of your picture, you have PC133 SDRAM, not PC2700 so I don't think the mobo you pocked would work with your current stuff. I found this, but not sure what socket your 1.8 is...

http://www.gearxs.com/gearxs/product...oducts_id=4653

What is your budget? it might be better to take all the pariph's out of your sstem and get a new core. (mobo/CPU/video) and put the rest of the parts back in.
The P4 CPU that i have has this on it
--------------------------------
Intel
pentium 4

1.8GHZ/256/400/1.75V
SL5UK MALAY
L1358118-0103
--------------------------------
This might have info for you
http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SL5UK
i believe this is 478 but again i just didnt want to buy more memory already have 1GB of SDRAM.

I think that the board you shown was sold out and i believe that is the type of board i need to solve my issue.
but i cant really find that board to buy anywhere for under $50 or so

Anyway all i need is a motherboard that can handle P4 1.8 478 pin with SDRAM (i have them all 256 x 4)

and do i actually need a new video card? i know its old but do i need another video card?
Dragonbssj is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 03:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

do u play any games or edit video?
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 03:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mophead740
do u play any games or edit video?
Edit Video, not really
Games im geting into the more say MMORPG's
i have played games like Sims 2,Flyff, might play this one called Phantasy Star Universe. or AKA Phantasy Star Online 2 when its out...
Dragonbssj is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 03:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

sounds like those games rnt to taxing
but
do u have a free AGP or PCIe x16 slot free
it would make it much easier to find a card
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 03:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mophead740
sounds like those games rnt to taxing
but
do u have a free AGP or PCIe x16 slot free
it would make it much easier to find a card

Sorry mophead740 didnt really understand your question there.

The computer is what was stated the 1st post i have this NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 in the AGP slot of this Asus P3B-F Motherboard.
__________________

Dragonbssj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.