Is This REALLY Worth It ?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2006, 04:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Is This REALLY Worth It ??

Im currently looking to upgrade my pc my current specs are as follows :

AMD Athlon 2500
Ati Radeon 9600XT
1GB DDR Ram
Motherboard unknown i no that it does not support PCI-E and has no integregated GPU or surround sound audio.
Old 25Gb hard disk 5400Rpm i think or maybe less 2mb Cache
300watt PSU

I shall be upgrading to :
Amd Athlon 3500 AM2 Socket
Nvidia 7600GT 256mb 128bit
1GB Ram DDR 2 (cant afford any more)
160gb WD Caviar 7200RPM 8mb Cahce
Gigabyte Nforce 4 PCI-E x16 and AM2 socket based
350watt PSU (Will this be enough ?)

Thanks any advice welcome this currently comes out at about 350-400 pounds. My Limit is 400 pounds. I shall be using it for Multitasking (several programs) and Gaming.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Very worth it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 04:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Ok Thanks there , i must point out that because of my budget the Branding (make) of my GPU will suffer, im currently leaning towards the reasonabley priced Palit 7600GT at 90 pounds. Any comments on Palit Nvidia GPU's ? and how about the 350watt PSU for that lot (plus a dvd drive).

Thanks
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 04:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

If your going to be using it for multitasking, then i suggest a dual-core.

the best option would be a C2D but since the first dual core would be 40 more bucks and the boards are more then cant see that happening.

I would say downgrade to the 7600GS as it is the exact same thing pretty much for about 18 bucks cheaper then this.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103733
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Ok Thanks, but when i say multitasking i mean Having lots of programs running at once (My athlon 2500 copes enough already) so i think i should be ok , While playing on CoD2 with DX 7 and mid settings i usually have MSN and Xfire running along with Downloads , Limewire , Photoshop and Notepad along with Runescape and RS DEMON and Swift Switch Few its over. I still dont have many problems with this my PC only lags for about 3 or 4 seconds when coming from my gaming screen to the desktop via the windows key and then again when i return to my game. So maybe the 3500 will be fine. I need the 7600GT for my gaming as i will be using it for a BF2 compotion later in january 07.

Please someone comment on the 350Watt PSU powering my new system in the Starting Post ^^

(May i add that my current DDR 1GB Ram is Budget Ram)

Many Thanks
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 05:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Bump. So does anyone have any Help on a 350watt psu running on the specs i gave in the first post.

Thanks
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

I would suggest you hold off untill the price of the core duos comes down, if you need it for gaming you can just upgrade the video card and add more ram for now.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 01:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

All INC VAT
Pentium D 820 2.8Ghz Skt 775 Fsb 800 2 x 1Mb - 64.45
http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/93109/rb/23650437947
Gigabyte GA-8I945GMH-RH - 70.09
http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/117725
Corsair 1GB DDR2 533 - 68.73
http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/63631/rb/23650648566
Inno3D GeForce 7600GT 256MB - 89.82
http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/118475
Antec TRUE430PGB True Power 430W - 57.47
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=35882
Western Digital Caviar SE 160GB - 36.62
http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/94406

387.18 not including shipping...

the mobo lets you upgrade to C2D later on, and you can add a 1GB stick later on as well... but you still get dual core out of it...

Just my 2.5 cents
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 01:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Thanks , Not so sure about that processor for gaming. Im sure im wrong though :P


Thanks Anyway.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 07:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

your psu depends on the voltage your card needs vs. how much the psu can handle.
check the specs on them both and read this:

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=131824

it will help you understand power requirements.
good luck!
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.