really old pc...what to do - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2006, 10:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 131
Default really old pc...what to do

i've just helped my friend upgrade his pc. he then gave me the ancient pc for my trouble.it is an intel pentium mmx 166MHz. What OS do you recommend for me to run on that system?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz
ASUS P5N32-E SLI Motherboard
2X Seagate Barracuda 500GB HDD
2X Corsair XMS2 1GB PC 6400 DDR2 800MHz RAM
MSI NX8800GTS 640MB
2x Philips 22" 202P73
m6qrp is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Try out some linux. **** Small Linux (aka DSL) would probably be best for that HDD.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Put on Windows 98 and fold for TF!
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 11:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
bigbaddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 156
Send a message via Yahoo to bigbaddog
Default

DOS-would make a great retro gaming machine
bigbaddog is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 11:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Put on Windows 98 and fold for TF!

:freak: That thing's not fast enough for folding.
Shumway is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 12:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 131
Default

whats folding?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz
ASUS P5N32-E SLI Motherboard
2X Seagate Barracuda 500GB HDD
2X Corsair XMS2 1GB PC 6400 DDR2 800MHz RAM
MSI NX8800GTS 640MB
2x Philips 22" 202P73
m6qrp is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 12:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

http://folding.stanford.edu/
Shumway is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 12:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
:freak: That thing's not fast enough for folding.

You need more than 64MB of RAM for folding?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 01:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
You need more than 64MB of RAM for folding?
The cpu isn't really fast enough,You can do it but you it will take forever and ever,It is recommended that anything without SIMD (SSE, 3DNow+ or AltiVec) run deadlineless WUs. CPUs slower than 300 MHz are probably too slow to complete WUs unless the machine is running 24x7.
Shumway is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 01:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

DSL!!!

If you don't want it, I'll take it off your hands, my dad divorced and is taking this computer, and i'll be left with none.. :P
__________________

__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.