Real Quick Question on RAM - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2006, 11:36 AM   #11 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Originally posted by i.Angel
1 More question...

I noticed that DDR2 RAM has very high timings like 4-4-4-12 and 5-5-5-15... but DDR 400 RAM has timings liek 2-3-2-6

Why such a big difference?

Also, if I'm going to buy a Conroe CPU, what should the CAS Latencies be on DDR2 RAM?
A lot of that has to do with DDR2 being relatively new compared to DDR. Early DDR had inferior timings to what we have come to know as regular timings.

Another part of the higher DDR2 timings is likely caused by it's higher speeds that it runs at. Often when overclocking RAM, timings are sacrificed to run it at higher frequencies while maintaining stability.

.hmm fanboys.
This is actually a pretty fanboyless thread. Perhaps you should keep your flame-provoking comments to yourself.


Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 11:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
suicide007's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279

Wait, so which is better? ddr or ddr2. my board has 2 slots for each, and that is one of my next upgrades. Which is better?

Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 03:05 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48

get DDR2s. you get higher clock frequency.
Looking for computers to buy?
<a href=></a>
hereyago is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 03:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

Wait, so which is better? ddr or ddr2. my board has 2 slots for each, and that is one of my next upgrades. Which is better?
it is not really that simple to compare the two. in your case you clearly have an Intel board and cpu. you would most likely benefit from using DDR2. Intel does get a decent increase in performance using DDR2 however AMD does not. this is due to the high latency of the northbridge memory controller on Intel boards, thus higher frequency is desirable as opposed to the on die AMD memory controller with almost no latency where tight timings are desirable over frequency.

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.