Real Quick Question on RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2006, 10:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 21
Default Real Quick Question on RAM

Is it better to have lower CAS latencies? Or Higher?
__________________

i.Angel is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 10:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default

lower....
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 06:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ditto, lower. the lower the timings the quicker it responds
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 07:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Well lower, but won't it put stress on the memory?
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

not really, as long as the memory is stable. unless you put your memory through a heck of a lot of stress it should last quite some time
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 21
Default

1 More question...

I noticed that DDR2 RAM has very high timings like 4-4-4-12 and 5-5-5-15... but DDR 400 RAM has timings liek 2-3-2-6

Why such a big difference?

Also, if I'm going to buy a Conroe CPU, what should the CAS Latencies be on DDR2 RAM?
i.Angel is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 05:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 92
Default

i think ddr2 uses higher timings because it runs at higher frequencies but i am not sure. ddr2 is still kinda new but you will get modules that have better timings by purchasing the low latency modules. check crucial, ocz, corsiar. i dont reccommend kingston because they tend to use more chips on their dimms which means you will most likely not be able to tweak anymore juice out of it. i think kingston uses a set of low class chips so i would never reccommend them.

also instead of spending all that cash on a conroe you could get better performance from a socket AM2 Athlon X2 which uses ddr2.

also a good cpu and ram is nothing without a good board so buy from ASUS or DFI and make sure it has dual channel support.
__________________
cdkiller [everything is to be replicate]
cdkiller is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 07:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cdkiller
also instead of spending all that cash on a conroe you could get better performance from a socket AM2 Athlon X2 which uses ddr2.
Not entirely true.........I like the AMD CPUs, but by the looks of pre-release benchmarks, the Conroe is going to beat any socket AM2 CPU. And they look to be pretty cheap as well. The problem is the motherboards at the moment are expensive, but that's sure to change once they are released.
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 08:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

.hmm fanboys.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 09:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

What are you talking about?
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.