A Real n00b Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2006, 06:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default A Real n00b Question

Have a feelin this is a real n00b question, but....

If I have 512mb PC2700 DDR RAM installed on my desktop, just wondering if I wanted to upgrade my RAM, what I can upgrade with. (comp is an Advent 3418)

Have seen 512mb PC3200 DDR and 512mb PC2-4300 DDR2 RAM at a cheap price, was wondering if I could use this, and whether it was better than the RAM i have??

Really sorry if this topic has already been covered, but since I've discovered this forum, I've received so much useful help, Thank You All!!!!!!!
__________________

problematic is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 07:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

well make sure you have an empty slot first..

yes, you can use 512mb pc3200 ddr400 but it will be clocked down to match your other stick of ram (ddr333). you can't, however, use ddr2, as that has different # of pins.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 07:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 42
Default

My motherboard, a TriGem IT865GE (MS 6743) (found at http://www.pcservicecall.co.uk/layout.aspx?ID={24a51b25-fafc-46a2-a657-687517153dd3}&CatID={0fbba97d-5616-4375-a2b2-7aaa8cef5d62} ) has four slots, i think for RAM, only one of which is used.

Does this amke any difference to the type of RAM I can have?
problematic is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 09:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

yes 4 slots for ram. that means you can add more ram. this doesn't change what type of ram you can get. you can only get DDR ram, you can't get DDR2.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 11:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

i dont think your motherboard supports ddr400, so youl have 2 get ddr333.

but double check first.
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 12:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

He wouldn't need to get PC2700 ram, PC3200 would just clock down to match what his mobo suported.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 01:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114
Default

In short, find a 184 pin 512 MB DDR PC 2700 RAM, that would help.
If you could find a PC 3200 RAM for a cheaper price, then go for it.

Dunno whether your mobo will support dual channel or not. If it does then go for a Pc 2700 RAM stick.
__________________
DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 01:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

make sure the ram is 184 pin if your mobo supports 184 pins
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.