Rate this system I'm planning to build! + Screen Decision - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2005, 05:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Default Rate this system I'm planning to build! + Screen Decision

Processor

Socket 754. AMD Athlon 64 3400 2.2Ghz.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AMD-Athlon-64-...QQcmdZViewItem
(£132.99)

Motherboard

MSI K8N Neo Platinum
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=77869
(£66.42)

RAM

Crucial 1gb 184 Pin DDR PC3200
http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/MPar...PN=CT12864Z40B
(£75.19)

Video Card

Nvidia Geforce 256MB FX5500 8X AGP
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-NVIDIA-GEF...QQcmdZViewItem
(£44.98)

Sound Card and Speakers

5.1 Sound Card and Speaker Bundle
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/QUALITY-SPEAKE...QQcmdZViewItem
(£28.89)

Hard Drive

Maxtor 200gb SATA 8mb Cache
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Sealed-MAXTOR-...QQcmdZViewItem
(£64.98)

DVD-RW Drive

Sony 16x Dual Layer DVD+-RW
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SONY-16X-Dual-...QQcmdZViewItem
(£36.94)

Keyboard

Saitek Eclipse Backlit
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/New-Saitek-Ecl...QQcmdZViewItem
(£40.99)

Case and Power Supply

Zorro Case With Clear Side + 450W PSU + Case Fan
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Zorro-Case-Wit...QQcmdZViewItem
(£39.99)

OS

Windows XP Professional
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MICROSOFT-WIND...QQcmdZViewItem
(£66.98)



Have visited a couple of sites getting together these parts but most are from eBay. Please can you confirm for me that everything is compatible? I want power but most of all I want the system to be reliable. Are these good reliable parts?

Anyware I could save money?
Do you think it would work well overall?

I would not play any of the latest FPS and stuff, but how good is the graphics card?

To be honest, just adding up the prices I had no idea this would already cost 600 (pounds), (nothing bought yet though) and I still need to buy a display.

I will be editing and viewing a lot of photos and only playing some moderate gaming. I'm not sure I have very much to spend on the screen now. . maybe 200? But I want a good one. . . . Should I sacrifice something elsewhere because I feel the screen is important for me.

As I posted in another forum:


I may play some games but not many, so I guess response time isn't very important to me. I will do quite a lot of digital photography and picture viewing on it so I want a high resolution. I may spend long hours at a time looking at it so I want the glare and eye strain to be low.

I think I want it 19 inches or bigger as minimum. Open to all brand suggestions, but remember I am in the UK if that makes a difference

.

So thanks for any advice about that too!

Thanks
__________________

TicTac2 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

For a monitor i suggest a Philips 190B. It is a 19" LCD Monitor and it is very clear. Im using it right now and i have had no problems with it at all.

The Graphics Card can handle high resolutions fine, and depending on your model - multiple displays however for gaming it isnt that great compared to lets say a 6600gt. But if you arnt gaming that shouldnt be much of a problem.

Also, are you sure you cant go to socket 939 rather than 754?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 09:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

I must stress this! You cannot use a SATA drive as a master, its default is a slave. When you try and install windows on it Windows setup will not see the SATA drive. This does not apply if your going to be using Linux. If you already have a ATA or some type of IDE drive that your planning to use as your master this does not apply but beware!
Amd64Boy is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 11:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Default

ok, thanks.

a few questions:

1) Out of interest I am wondering whether one of these AMD 64s 3200+ or whatever would be faster than my Pentium M 1.86ghz in my laptop?

2) There seems to be a big choice of motherboards and now having decided to go to socket 939 I'm not sure which motherboard to get.
I want not too expensive, lots of USB ports, PCI-Express, Wifi/Lan, Ethernet and the normal selection of IDE ports and stuff. Any recommendations for motherboard?

3) So as my main Hard drive I should get an ATA or an IDE which would be compatible?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AMD64-3000-CPU...QQcmdZViewItem

Could anyone tell me whether the Foxconn NF4 motherboard in this auction is any good? and also the fan.

Thanks for all the help
TicTac2 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amd64Boy
I must stress this! You cannot use a SATA drive as a master, its default is a slave. When you try and install windows on it Windows setup will not see the SATA drive. This does not apply if your going to be using Linux. If you already have a ATA or some type of IDE drive that your planning to use as your master this does not apply but beware!
lol wtf?
weringo is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to locki433
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amd64Boy
I must stress this! You cannot use a SATA drive as a master, its default is a slave. When you try and install windows on it Windows setup will not see the SATA drive. This does not apply if your going to be using Linux. If you already have a ATA or some type of IDE drive that your planning to use as your master this does not apply but beware!
What are you babbleing about. I loaded windows just fine on my Sata drives on both my computers. Your smoking something
__________________
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Opteron 175 @ 2.80Ghz
Zalman CNPS7000-Cu
OCZ DDR500 2048 Gold XTC
eVGA 7800GTx 256MB PCI-E
Lite-On 16x DVD+-RW DL
Mushkin 120GB SSD SATAIII
Seagate 1TB SataII x 2
Dell 20.1 Inch Widescreen LCD
locki433 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 04:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

all you need is the sata controller drivers, then it picks it up fine.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 04:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 35
Default

ok, so I'm guessing the SATA hard drive will be fine (will it come with the sata controller drivers?).

Any answers to my other questions?

Thanks
TicTac2 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 04:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yes, the sata drive will be fine, the drivers usually come with your mobo.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 05:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Out of interest I am wondering whether one of these AMD 64s 3200+ or whatever would be faster than my Pentium M 1.86ghz in my laptop?
Yes a 3200+ Venice will cream that cpu. That setup you have there is really out of date and you really aren't going far with it. Ask anyone on this forum who got sucked into buying the FX-5500 they'll tell you that it's a piece of garbage, it doesn't even have enough pipelines to fully take advantage of the 256mb. Here's in my opinion, what you should be getting:

Motherboard:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491

CPU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

Video card:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130214
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.