Rate my PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2005, 09:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

AMD doesn't support DDR2.


Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 09:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball

If you're not playing any games at all on your computer, except for the occasional internet game, there's no need to get an AMD processor. You might as well get an Intel one because it will come in handy with multitasking and the things you're looking to use your pc for.

AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 09:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57

Originally posted by macdude425
AMD doesn't support DDR2.
Ohhhhh bugger!

I might as well go with DDR, but will DDR die soon?
sick_unit is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker

Ahh. Didn't notice that you were in Australia and those were Australian dollars, my bad. Actually I was talking about the AMD Athlon 64 4000+ which is $334USD I believe. But the 3700+ is only one step below and is equal to a 3.7GHz Pentium 4 (thus the "3700+") in regular tasks like you mentioned. However in games, the 3700+ is MUCH better, more like a 4.2Ghz Pentium 4 or something like that.

DDR is as strong as ever and people will be building systems with it for a long time. However AMD's Socket M2 is coming out. Its basically the same processor, except it supports DDR2 memory. Still nothing wrong with DDR right now.
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 11:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57

Hmmmmmm, Im still tossing up between the AMD or the Intel. Ive never used AMD before, since I dont play any games are AMD's still good for multi tasking?
I know Intel are better for multi tasking however Intel cost much more than AMD and it would be good to save some money on the CPU.

sick_unit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.