Rate my PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2005, 09:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default Rate my PC

Ive been using this PC for about 2-3 years now and want to upgrade. Im not a hardcore gamer, all I do is use the internet, homework and the occasional game on the internet. I want to get a decent computer that will be able to handle Windows Vista when it does come out. I also dont want to spend too much.

Well this is what ive got so far:

Case: ASUS TA210 - $120
Motherboard: Gigabyte 8I915P Duo - $140
HDD: Seagate 8M SATA 120G - $111
CPU: Intel P4 3.4Ghz - $400
Memory: Generic 512MB DDR2 - $48
Graphics Card: 128MB Forsa 6200TC128 - $75 (it also says 'Up to 256M' Im not sure what that means)

TOTAL: $894 AUD (670 US / 567 EUR / 382 GBP)

Im going to use my monitor and my DVD burner I have in my PC right now.


Is that a good system? Will it be decent for overclocking?


Thanks
__________________

sick_unit is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

For you? 9/10.

For today's games? 5/10. You videocard is sadly behind. With a better videocard that would be like a 7/10 for gaming. AMD is MUCH better in gaming. With a $400 AMD processor (which by the way is equal to a 4.0GHz Pentium 4) AND a better videocard, it would be a 9/10 for gaming.

It should overclock fine. 4.0GHz max. But the AMD that I mentioned earlier is compared to a 4.0GHz Pentium 4 when its on stock speeds, and its still $344.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^ Agree'd
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Thanks for your input Flanker!


Are you talking abut this AMD:

San Diego 3700+ - $348
What is that equivalent to a P4 in GHz? (Sorry I dont know much about AMD's at all!)

About the video card, is this any good?
256MB Forsa 6600 DVI - $148
sick_unit is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

It would be about a 3.7ghz Pentium 4.

The video card, I don't know about. The 6600 is good, but I've never heard of that manufacturer...
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to The Kraut
Default

I thought you didnt want to use generic RAM for OCing? I also agree about the processor Flanker mentioned above. Unless im mistaken (which i could be) a 3700+ is equivalent to a 3.7 ghz pentium.
__________________
Better sig coming soon.
The Kraut is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Yeah Ive never heard of Forsa before, but like I said, I dont really care about the graphics card because I dont play games on my PC.

One more question regarding the AMD San Diego 3700+. What could I overclock it to?
sick_unit is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Depends on your RAM and PSU. Stock, I would guess to about 4000+.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to The Kraut
Default

Supposedly some people are OCing it to around 3 ghz, but if you want a cpu that you can OC quite a bit look into the opteron 148. Its basically a 3700+ thats been tested more and built for servers. If you are going with AMD and want to OC then go with a DFI motherboard.
__________________
Better sig coming soon.
The Kraut is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default

I guess having Generic DDR2 RAM might cause some problems, if I overclock.
I think the ASUS TA210 comes with a 360 watt PSU, so thats going to be no good. Might have to get an 'Antec 500 watt Smart Power 2' for $115.

So I might go with the AMD now, but I have to try and find a motherboard that supports DDR2 RAM. Any suggestions?
__________________

sick_unit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.