Rate my computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2009, 11:16 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Rate my computer

I looked up your PC, and it seems you do have a PCI-E slot. But we also have to look at your PSU to see if it can handle a new card. Since it's a slimline, I'm not sure if you can replace the PSU...so you may be out of luck.

And this machine is using old technology like Surge said. It only supports up to 2gb of DDR2-667 and it's an AM2 board, which means you can't even upgrade the processor. The 4000+ is a decently old processor now.

So for these reasons, I said you should build a new PC. But if you can get a new video card in there that will work with your PSU, then it'll work okay for now I suppose. But it all falls to your PSU. For the bigger cards, you'll need something with more wattage, and PCI-E power connectors.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 11:25 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Rate my computer

Perhaps an HD4670 or lower card would be able to work and be more than enough to meet those minimum requirements. The HD4670 is a very short card, so it should fit length-wise, but I don't know about height-wise.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 11:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Rate my computer

It might fit, but that computer can't have more than a 300 or 350w PSU, would it be fine with that?
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 11:44 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Rate my computer

Supposedly it only uses 59W max.

The CPU he has uses 65W, so that's 124W. The only other power users are going to be the DVD drive and hard drive/fans which won't use much at all.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 11:47 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Re: Rate my computer

so your saying I cant get a XFX GeForce 9800 GT
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 11:49 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Rate my computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
Supposedly it only uses 59W max.

The CPU he has uses 65W, so that's 124W. The only other power users are going to be the DVD drive and hard drive/fans which won't use much at all.
Fair enough.

As for the 9800GT, it's probably too long for your tiny case.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 11:50 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Rate my computer

Most likely not. That would require too much power and would not fit in your case. The 4670, is more than enough for your needs though.

EDIT: hikari is faster than my ninja self.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 11:52 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Rate my computer

It's only because I have nothing else to do in my old apartment.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 12:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Re: Rate my computer

well I am looking at the Radeon you said would fit and is it a good card? it looks good I guess I am planning to get. So it does fit the radeon? HD 4670.
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 12:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Rate my computer

Can't know for sure without seeing your case width. Measure the height of your expansion slots (the slots at the bottom of the back of your case). By height I mean if your computer is vertical, measure from the left side of the case to the right. If your computer is lying horizontal, measure from top to bottom.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning: Building a computer may lead to nervous breakdown! White_Wolf Off Topic Discussion 18 04-09-2009 06:43 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Computer stops working, Almost Completely, when Browsing or Multitasking VistaGamer Microsoft Windows and Software 7 01-16-2009 09:51 PM
What is a computer nerd? BonKerz Off Topic Discussion 15 06-26-2008 03:24 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.