Random stuff. Gtx 970 fun too - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2015, 09:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
x51noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 160
Default Random stuff. Gtx 970 fun too

So I'm wondering if my fan layout is acceptable. I have 3 nf-f12 fans in front of my h440 pulling air in. I have two of the same fans in pull on my h100i and I have a corsair AF 140 for exhaust. My GPU 1 reaches 80 sometimes I until I pop the front cover off my case defeating the purpose of a "silent" design.

Also I have two 970's in sli and I'm getting well over the 3.5 gbs in shadow of mordor and dying light. It's my first sli system and I thought the stutter just came with the territory until I read about the memory issues and saw people with different cards were having a much better experience than me. Not sure what to do here. But it's pretty damn annoying sometimes. Thinking about trading the cards out but not sure what to yet. Two 980's is just not in the budget.
__________________

__________________
Using Tapatalk
x51noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 10:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Random stuff. Gtx 970 fun too

As to the fan situation, the F12 is more of a radiator/heatsink type of fan as it's used primarily for static pressure applications. That being said, 80c on your top GPU is perfectly fine and right where it's supposed to be.

To the VRAM thing, it's not limited to certain boards. The way the chip is made is on every single 970 out there. Despite common belief you shouldn't notice it at all in games. Micro-stutter comes with any multi-GPU setup. I get it on 980s as well.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 11:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
x51noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 160
Default Re: Random stuff. Gtx 970 fun too

I never notice it as bad as when the vram usage gets up to 3.7-3.9 I just started monitoring it when I heard all this. But at the same time when it gets that high both GPU are running 90%+ load so idk. I'd love to try out a 980sli system to compare lol. Pcper did a good article on 970 vs 980 sli. But they claim you have to run 4k at 120% scaling to get over the 3.5 limit which is nonsense.
__________________
Using Tapatalk
x51noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 11:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Random stuff. Gtx 970 fun too

It's not complete nonsense. I've been posting on a Youtube video in a discussion about basically the same thing and one guy saying he's running 970 SLI and hitting 3.5GB in Dying Light for 1080p and I called his BS because at 1440p I cap at 3.2GB in Dying Light with 980 SLI. It varies between each game greatly and how it handles texture information. If you're running the high res texture pack in SoM then just turn it off. To me it made absolutely no difference visually. In Dying Light you shouldn't be hitting 3.5 unless you're running 4k. If you're running 4k, you should have re-evaluated the SLI 970 purchase.

I am also in complete believement that if nobody said anything we wouldn't have so many "issues" with 970s cropping up. The machine I built for my friend showed no such issues in games I know I can purposely cap VRAM in. I think people just see 3.5GB usage and go oh, I'm having issues. I compared visually the difference between 980 and 970 on the same machine and saw absolutely 0 issues in said games I capped VRAM in. Initial reviews also didn't mention anything of the matter. I'm not saying you're full of **** or anything, I'm just saying it's something to think about. Nobody else here is complaining about 970 performance either.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
x51noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 160
Default Re: Random stuff. Gtx 970 fun too

Well I'm running 1440p regular and ultra wide. It's funny cause I seem to get more stutter on my 1440p gsync but maybe cause the refresh rate is higher than my ultra wide so there's more of a visual range. Dying light usually at 3400 mb but goes all the way to 3600 on occasion and som usually 3800 or higher. I don't have my pitchfork and class action suit like some of the people I see but still. Oh far cry 4 is great example I'll test my vram usage later but that game remains completely unplayable for me with the insaine stutter while most people say it works fine for them now.
__________________
Using Tapatalk
x51noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 11:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Random stuff. Gtx 970 fun too

I haven't brought up FC4 yet since I got my setup, but it didn't use over 3GB for me on my 680. I admittedly didn't go very far into the game either.

Testing for this anomaly with varying monitors and refresh rates isn't very smart. With Gsync on and set to 144Hz everything for me is butter smooth except SLI micro-stutter.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 11:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
x51noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 160
Default Re: Random stuff. Gtx 970 fun too

Off topic. Do u have the swift and do you have any issues with it going "out of range" when you change GPU clock speeds on the fly?
__________________
Using Tapatalk
x51noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 11:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Random stuff. Gtx 970 fun too

Quote:
Originally Posted by x51noob View Post
Off topic. Do u have the swift and do you have any issues with it going "out of range" when you change GPU clock speeds on the fly?
Yes I have a Swift, and no I do not. Only time anything happens is when I turn Kboost on for benches and it flips the **** out by flickering the backlight fast until the image comes back up in Windows. I have all "extra" features of the monitor off.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 11:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
x51noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 160
Default Re: Random stuff. Gtx 970 fun too

Yea that's what mine does with the flickerinh but sometimes the image doesnt come back up. I reinstall Nvidia drivers on a separate monitor to get it working again.
__________________
Using Tapatalk
x51noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 12:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: Random stuff. Gtx 970 fun too

Yea I don't have that problem mate.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 970 Low fps on almost everything Diehardx95 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 44 02-10-2015 04:15 PM
GTX 970 uprgade into Asus GT10AC Apex6767 System Upgrades 1 01-15-2015 11:07 PM
Need help picking the best GTX 970 if possible krazyq System Upgrades 16 11-05-2014 07:36 PM
ASUS i7 2GHz, 17.3", 8GB DDR3, 1TB HD, GTX 560M - $970 smashedpumpkins Laptops and Notebooks 1 01-20-2012 12:00 AM
NVIDIA Fermi - GTX 470 - GTX 480 - GTX 480 SLI Review Osiris New Technology and Products 1 03-26-2010 11:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.