RAM or Video Card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2006, 04:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Default RAM or Video Card?

Hey, I need help deciding on parts.

My computer:
ASUS mobo
AMD semphron 3200 Socket 754
2x 128Mb PC2100 RAM
ATI Rage Fury 32Mb (Old card broke)
Western Digital 250Gb IDE Hard Drive
600Watt PSU

Now my question is, what should I buy first?
Memory or Video Card?

Most I can spend is $115, and maybe a couple bucks more.
If you guys can post links to great savings and good products, I will be very thankful. I don't know anything about overclocking, but i do play games such as Halo and Call of Duty, and since my original video card broke, i have not been able to play. But, I also run multiple programs almost 24/7 and I don't really have enough RAM to run them all at once.

Here's some stuff I have in mind:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141307
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231031
http://www.geeks.com/products_sc.asp?cat=852

Thanks
__________________

NeO247 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Tough one.

What do you currently use your computer for? Just internet surfing and mild gaming, or heavy gaming?

I would hightly recommend 256MB RAM and a cheap card.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Default

internet surfing. I do download alot. Mainly Dvd's and games. I would game all the time if I had a card for it. But I want a 1 Gb stick or a really nice card. But with whatever I get, I will buy the other in due time.
NeO247 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Easy get both sell the PSU unless its built in that much power is useless !
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 05:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Default

I got my psu for 20 bucks. Im going to keep it, cause then i would have to buy a new psu.
NeO247 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 05:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Yeh ok
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 05:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Default

It's okay if you don't believe me because I really don't care what some one like you has to say, but I am looking for help not for ignorace.
NeO247 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 10:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

I would suggest you try eBay. Since everyone is now upgrading to PCI-E you can find a load of cheap AGP cards. Get yourself 512 mb of ram and maybe a radeon 9xxx.
__________________

600MHZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.