RAM upgrading (speed) & a question about Sony - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2015, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 12
Send a message via Skype™ to benfinden
Default RAM upgrading (speed) & a question about Sony

Hi guys.

Hope you can help.

Looking to upgrade my DDR3 1066Mhz PC3-12800 1.35V RAM. Currently I have 6gb in two slots as supplied when i purchased the laptop.

1. Did I buy bullsh1t when they sold me a 4gb and 2gb sticks??? Surely they should be the same? (or if, as they are, both 1066Mhz modules, this doesnt matter?)

2. If i want to upgrade to my maximum allowed 8gb Ram, what are the rules around the speed? Can i buy 8GB Kit (4GBx2) DDR3 PC3-12800 Unbuffered NON-ECC 1.35V @ 1600Mhz? or does it have to be 1066MHz again.

Sorry if this question has already been asked before.

Regards

Ben
__________________

benfinden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 07:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: RAM upgrading (speed) & a question about Sony

What's the model of your laptop?

********? No. It's perfectly fine the way it is.

Speed? Depends on the laptop in question. If you bought 2x4GB of 1600 if the laptop doesn't support the speed it'll just drop to the highest speed supported.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 03:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 12
Send a message via Skype™ to benfinden
Default Re: RAM upgrading (speed) & a question about Sony

Sorry PP McGuire. I clearly don't make enough sense.


The reason for my question is that I have found it very hard to find 3gb ram modules and have also read that module should be identical for optimal performance. therefor with 6gb in 2 modules that I cant seem to find anywhere, I am assuming Sony have installed 4gb + 2gb which I assume again is not optimal.


I then ask if this matters and if so, what attributes of the apir need to be identical and which don't.


Sony Vaio VPCEA25CA
i5-M520




Then I called it speed. Sorry if that is wrong. We are not all jargon maestros.
I just linked speed with Mhz.
benfinden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 06:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: RAM upgrading (speed) & a question about Sony

odds are it is a 4GB and a 2 GB, Having 2 the same will run in duel channel but if it's not it won't be a huge difference or you might not even notice it at all. I've seen a lot of pre built like that too. Best to buy a duel channel kits so the ram is matched to each other. Even if you buy another 4 gig to match the one that's in there there is no sure bet it will be running duel channel. The slight differences when there made could be enough that they run slightly different speeds (there rated with a =/- tolerance) and if the two are on opposite sides of the tolerance then no duel channel but like I said, You really won't notice.

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 06:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: RAM upgrading (speed) & a question about Sony

Like I had already said before, it's perfectly fine. You're still running in dual channel and it's not hurting your performance at all. I have 3 different brands of RAM, 3 different speeds, and 3 different sizes in my server and it's running in dual channel 1333MHz just fine with no loss of performance. If you bought another 4GB of RAM to add to the 4GB you have now odds are you won't notice any difference at all except you have more RAM in your system.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 09:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 12
Send a message via Skype™ to benfinden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Like I had already said before, it's perfectly fine. You're still running in dual channel and it's not hurting your performance at all. I have 3 different brands of RAM, 3 different speeds, and 3 different sizes in my server and it's running in dual channel 1333MHz just fine with no loss of performance. If you bought another 4GB of RAM to add to the 4GB you have now odds are you won't notice any difference at all except you have more RAM in your system.
Nice one. But all things said and done, more ram is good right? I want to traktor and midi devices with as low latency St possible.. Was thinking ram upgrade and ssd upgrade.

Thanks again
benfinden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 10:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: RAM upgrading (speed) & a question about Sony

Latency depends more on the dependent devices than RAM or HDD. Things like USB controllers and audio devices.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 11:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: RAM upgrading (speed) & a question about Sony

Quote:
Originally Posted by benfinden View Post
Was thinking ram upgrade and ssd upgrade.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/HyperX-Impac...=laptop+memory

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Crucial-CT25...3&keywords=ssd

Those 2 would work great together for nearly 160 euros your getting a good deal.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 04:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 12
Send a message via Skype™ to benfinden
Default Re: RAM upgrading (speed) & a question about Sony

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Latency depends more on the dependent devices than RAM or HDD. Things like USB controllers and audio devices.
I maybe getting my terms mixed up then.

But if I am running a music program like Traktor and and I am getting signal spikes and drop out at the same time as being shown by the software that laptop is being overworked, then surely upgrades are required.

Or having carrried out a CClean and defrag, its time to reinstall

Thanks all
benfinden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 04:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 12
Send a message via Skype™ to benfinden
Default Re: RAM upgrading (speed) & a question about Sony

Quote:
Originally Posted by -RockMan- View Post

Brilliant. cheers!
__________________

benfinden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Ram/Low Speed OR Less Ram/High Speed alchemist007 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 09-26-2008 08:38 PM
FS:2.4 P4 chips & 2.8 P4 &Laptop Ram & Vid Cards & More! 98RedGs Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 07-30-2008 04:16 PM
Checking Internet Speed/ Download Speed/ Upload Speed JLKRMetallica Internet Software and Browsers 2 01-31-2006 01:34 AM
RAM speed and CPU FSB speed j4ckaL Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 08-07-2005 12:02 AM
Fast speed RAM on slow speed motherboard, Will it work???? nismoskys Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 04-09-2005 05:32 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.