Ram upgrade worth it in this machine? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2008, 07:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Ram upgrade worth it in this machine?

I've got a machine powered by a AMD 64 athlon 3700+ processor and a 1900xt graphics card. Since I only have 1 gig of ram, and 2 gigs of ram cost around fifty bucks, i'm wondering if upgrading would be worth the price.
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 11:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Ram upgrade worth it in this machine?

The real question is do you need it? Can the mother board handle it? Check Crucial.com for the 2nd answer.

But if you need it and want it yeah it couldnt hurt.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,306
Default Re: Ram upgrade worth it in this machine?

I don't know of any s939 (or even s754) boards that can't handle 2 gigs.

If you game, 2 gigs are perfect. Shop around for it, though, as DDR ain't cheap anymore.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Ram upgrade worth it in this machine?

Only if you got the ram really cheap. I upgraded a system from 512mb to 2gb, because it was only $30 and i plan on keeping that system for as long as possible.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 01:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 89
Default Re: Ram upgrade worth it in this machine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stainer711 View Post
I've got a machine powered by a AMD 64 athlon 3700+ processor and a 1900xt graphics card. Since I only have 1 gig of ram, and 2 gigs of ram cost around fifty bucks, i'm wondering if upgrading would be worth the price.
Personally I would I have an AMD 3600+ and I noticed a huge difference.
__________________
http://s3.photobucket.com/albums/y65...=Signature.jpg
MB - ECS GeForce6100SM-M2 ATX AMD
CPU - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 3.0GHz
HSF - Alpine 64 CPU Cooler
RAM - Select 2GB PC-6400 DDR2
GPU - e-GeForce 8600 GT 512MB DDR2 PCIe
HD - Western Digital 320GB 7,200RPM SATA-300
PSU - RAIDMAX QUANTUM RX-700 ATX12V 700W SLI
OS - Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Ultimate
Monitor - Star Logic 20.1" Widescreen LCD
Speakers - Klipsch 2.1 THX
Case: RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP Black SECC STEEL ATX Mid Tower
tbsk8er04 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 01:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default Re: Ram upgrade worth it in this machine?

I say if you arent gonna upgrade to DDR2 soon than yes its worth it. I noticed a difference.
__________________

__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Question b0bby System Upgrades 9 04-21-2008 11:32 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Upgrading RAM mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-16-2008 05:57 AM
Worth it to Upgrade? Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 16 04-11-2008 06:50 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.