Ram Upgrade Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2012, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Default Ram Upgrade Question

Hello, I'm wanting to upgrade my ram but am unsure of what's really compatible with my motherboard and would appreciate your help.

My system specs are;
Windows 7 64 Bit Home Premium
Asus P7P55D Pro LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel Core I5-750 Lynnfield 2.66 GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor (overclocked to 3.715)
XFX HD-577X-ZNFC Radeon HD 5770 1 GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express Video Card
Corsair CMPSU-650TX ATX12V / EPS12v Power Supply
Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB Hard Drive

I'm wanting to replace my existing OCZ 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) XMP-Ready Rev.2 Desktop Memory Ram
with;
Kingston HyperX 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX
at this link - Newegg.com - Kingston HyperX 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX

My question is this, is this new ram compatible with my motherboard/system or are there any issues that I might encounter.
Thank you for your help.
__________________

Seawolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: Ram Upgrade Question

If it's for gaming, go with 8GB.

If not, get dual 8GB sticks instead. The 750 kind of has a problem with 4 sticks at once.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ram Upgrade Question

Thanks for the reply, actually it's kind of a 50/50 mix between gaming and photo editing software/3D modeling apps. Do you think 8 GB would still be enough and if so do you have any suggestions for what to buy ?
Seawolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: Ram Upgrade Question

If you do more than gaming then 16GB isn't wasted. After looking at the site for your motherboard your only option is 4x4 sadly. That sticks you had selected will work but if you get any instability issues you will have to up some voltage on the IMC a tad.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ram Upgrade Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
That sticks you had selected will work but if you get any instability issues you will have to up some voltage on the IMC a tad.
Unfortunately I'm not sure what you're referring to when you mention the IMC so I doubt I would be comfortable attempting it. So that leads me to two questions;
1. Would this 8GB ram package (2x4GB) pose any problems that you can see ?
Newegg.com - Kingston HyperX 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model KHX1600C9D3K2/8GX
2. Would there be any reason that I couldn't try this 8GB package together with my existing 4 gigs of ram to make 12GB since I have 2 ram slots open now? Then if there was a problem I could remove my old 4GB and just use the new 8GB.
Seawolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: Ram Upgrade Question

I was looking for dual 8GB sticks, but your motherboard doesn't support 8GB sticks so the highest you can go is 4GB sticks.
By IMC I mean the memory controller. It can get unstable under a 4 stick load so you would have to up the VTT voltage just a tad but auto should be fine. I was just giving you the warning.

You can get either the 16GB kit or the 8GB to add to your existing RAM. The issue with 4 sticks lies within the CPU itself but it's a 50/50 chance whether you will have this problem or not. I would personally get a 4x4 set of Corsair Vengeance RAM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Ram Upgrade Question

That helps a lot on deciding which way to go, thank you for all your help and advice.
Seawolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Ram Upgrade Question

I looked on the Asus approved vendor list and I could not find that Kingston Model on the list
Infidelious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default Re: Ram Upgrade Question

Doesn't have to be approved. It'll work.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 01:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Ram Upgrade Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Doesn't have to be approved. It'll work.
I have the same SSD as you!!
__________________

Infidelious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on ram upgrade kryne New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-12-2011 12:12 AM
Ram/upgrade question apsoul System Upgrades 6 09-21-2009 01:39 AM
RAM Upgrade Question I_DROWN_FISH System Upgrades 12 01-15-2007 01:21 PM
Question about ram upgrade budica Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 10-19-2004 12:21 PM
Ram Upgrade Question NIMRAVUS Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 02-18-2004 09:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.