RAM Upgrade Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2009, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default RAM Upgrade Problem

Hi everyone, I'm having a bit of a problem which I'm hoping someone can help me with. I decided to upgrade my ram from the 2GB which came with the system to 4 GB. I looked into what RAM was compatible with my system which is DDR2 PC 4200 or 5300.

To make a long story short, after having some initial problems which I thought were related to mixing new RAM with old, I just bought four sticks of Kingston 1 GB RAM to put into the 4 DIMM slots. When I put all 4 GB's in and start the computer up, BIOS recognizes the installed RAM, but when Vista comes up, it does a quick blue screen flash and just restarts the computer. This was the same thing that happened when I mixed RAM. I just left in 2 GB of the new RAM and the computer works fine, but if I try to go any higher than that it craps out and restarts itself, I even tried to do 3 GB. I am also fairly confident that it is not a bad RAM stick as the problem has been consistent with just upgrading past 2 GB. I even moved the sticks around to make sure the DIMM slots were working properly, and they worked with no problem.

Just for clarification I am running the 32 bit version of Vista, the motherboard is a ASUS P5LP-LE per the HP Specs which are listed here:

Motherboard Specifications, P5LP-LE (Emery)*

I looked around and it seems that my motherboard should be able to handle 4gb of RAM.

If anyone has any suggestions on what the problem might be I would greatly appreciate it! I hope I have been clear enough with what issues I am having.

Additionally I know that 32bit Vista will only allow for 3.5 GB max, but I can't even get into Windows which I know should be possible.

Thanks
__________________

nsaul1211 is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: RAM Upgrade Problem

Have you tried each individual stick on its own? Perhaps there's something up with one of them (hint: it won't be either of the two in this scenario "I just left in 2 GB of the new RAM and the computer works fine", only try the other two on their own).
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 03:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: RAM Upgrade Problem

ohh yea, I've tried them and the sticks are all ok.
nsaul1211 is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: RAM Upgrade Problem

I have heard about a few problems when both using all the dimm slots, and using over 3gb of ram in a 32bit os. So it could be either of those (or not).
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 04:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: RAM Upgrade Problem

I'm starting to think the issue is Vista related and not hardware
nsaul1211 is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: RAM Upgrade Problem

^the only thing that it would be because of vista is that it is a 32bit os like i said mate, unless you have a messed up install (you never know what it could do)
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 04:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: RAM Upgrade Problem

Make sure your using the correct voltage setting to start with. Another thing, some mobo's just don't play well when all the memory slots are full. I had a 780i mobo with 2x1GB of DDR2 1150MHz PC2 9200 in it. I decided to add another kit of the same memory to it and it would no longer boot at 1150 MHz it would only work at 1066 speeds. You may be able to run it at the rated speed but you might need to increase the latency settings, or if your at a 1T timing you may need to use 2T.

I learned this lesson the hard way, if you'll notice, I always try to steer users away from filling up their memory slots.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win-7 32bit & 64bit for RAM Problem mwvirk Microsoft Windows and Software 9 06-30-2009 02:58 AM
RAM Upgrade failure SparksN8 System Upgrades 1 10-18-2008 02:17 PM
Boot Problem with 8GB's Of RAM :( JustinTime91 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-30-2008 05:02 PM
High density ram upgrade Inigo_Montoya System Upgrades 0 02-24-2008 11:50 PM
RAM Upgrade Vortex187 System Upgrades 2 12-26-2007 07:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.