ram upgrade help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 04:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Unhappy ram upgrade help

hi there

i want to upgrade my ram sooner than later but i dont know what to do and what has to match due to my current ram and blah blah

someone suggested i make a report with everest, ive done that.

can someone take a look at the report and then do me a favour and select some ram sticks from www.pcworld.co.uk and show me please (theres a reason im choosing pcworld.co.uk...), im thinking of maybe putting another 1gb or replacing my 256mb stick with another 512mb stick in there, would it help to just buy one 1gb stick and replace both the 512 and 256 stick because they might be crap?

as you can probably tell im confused more than i would be if i were in a maze, so please help

thanks

see here for the log report: http://rapidshare.de/files/15995337/Report_2_.txt.html

(when clicking the link scroll down and click [free] and just enter the validation code and u can download it, its a .txt file
__________________

oxygenuk is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 05:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

bad news: socket 754 therefore no dual channel
only 2 dimms: so you can't just add, you'll have to replace at least the 256mb stick.

not sure what speed your 512mb stick is.. i thought it was ddr400, till i saw this:

mory Bus Properties:
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 160 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 320 MHz
Bandwidth 2560 MB/s

so now i'm not sure anymore... cuz it said earlier ddr400. so if your 512mb is ddr400, just buy a 1gb stick and put it in where the 256 was. if the 512mb is slower, then you dont' want it to downclock the new ram, so just buy either 2X512 or just 1 gb stick, or 2 X 1gb.

someone else can help clarify.

how much you lookin to spend on ram?
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 05:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

and to make it easier.. i'll quote the relevant stuff...


--[ EVEREST Home Edition (c) 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Report Wizard
Computer XTECH-1D5D3BAC3 (leet)
Generator kev
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2006-03-20
Time 13:18


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name XTECH-1D5D3BAC3 (leet)
User Name kev

Motherboard:
CPU Type AMD Sempron, 1600 MHz (8 x 200) 2800+
Motherboard Name ASRock K8Upgrade-1689 (4 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 Future CPU Port, 2 DDR DIMM, Audio, LAN)
Motherboard Chipset ULi/ALi M1689, AMD Hammer
System Memory 768 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type AMI (04/19/05)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port ECP Printer Port (LPT1)




[ System ]

System Properties:
Product K8Upgrade-1689
Version 1.00
Serial Number 00000000
Universal Unique ID 00020003-00040005-00060007-00080009
Wake-Up Type Power Switch

[ Motherboard ]

Motherboard Properties:
Product K8Upgrade-1689
Version 1.00
Serial Number 00000000

CPU Properties:
CPU Type AMD Sempron 2800+
CPU Alias Winchester-256 S754
CPU Stepping DH-D0
CPUID CPU Name AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2800+
CPUID Revision 00010FC0h

CPU Speed:
CPU Clock 1599.75 MHz
CPU Multiplier 8.0x
CPU FSB 199.97 MHz (original: 200 MHz)
Memory Bus 159.98 MHz

CPU Cache:
L1 Code Cache 64 KB (Parity)
L1 Data Cache 64 KB (ECC)
L2 Cache 256 KB (On-Die, ECC, Full-Speed)

Motherboard Properties:
Motherboard ID 62-170-0000010-00101111-041905-ALI$K1689170_K8UPGRADE-1689 BIOS P1.70
Motherboard Name ASRock K8Upgrade-1689 (4 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 Future CPU Port, 2 DDR DIMM, Audio, LAN)

Chipset Properties:
Motherboard Chipset ULi/ALi M1689, AMD Hammer
Memory Timings 2.5-3-3-7 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Command Rate (CR) 2T

SPD Memory Modules:
DIMM1: MDD512-08M 512 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (3.0-3-3-8 @ 200 MHz) (2.5-3-3-7 @ 166 MHz) (2.0-2-2-6 @ 133 MHz)
DIMM2: CEONM42565340 256 MB PC3200 DDR SDRAM (2.5-3-3-8 @ 200 MHz)

Front Side Bus Properties:
Bus Type AMD Hammer
Real Clock 200 MHz
Effective Clock 200 MHz
HyperTransport Clock 800 MHz

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 160 MHz (DDR)
Effective Clock 320 MHz
Bandwidth 2560 MB/s

Chipset Bus Properties:
Bus Type HyperTransport
Bus Width 8-bit

Motherboard Physical Info:
CPU Sockets/Slots 1 Socket 754
Expansion Slots 4 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 Future CPU Port
RAM Slots 2 DDR DIMM
Integrated Devices Audio, LAN
Form Factor ATX
Motherboard Size 190 mm x 300 mm
Motherboard Chipset ULi1689
Extra Features Hybrid Booster


Physical Memory:
Total 767 MB
Used 568 MB
Free 199 MB
Utilization 74 %

Swap Space:
Total 1874 MB
Used 419 MB
Free 1455 MB
Utilization 22 %

Virtual Memory:
Total 2642 MB
Used 987 MB
Free 1654 MB
Utilization 37 %

Physical Address Extension (PAE):
Supported by Operating System Yes
Supported by CPU Yes
Active No


--------[ SPD ]---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[ DIMM1: MDD512-08M ]

Memory Module Properties:
Module Name MDD512-08M
Serial Number None
Manufacture Date Week 18 / 2005
Module Size 512 MB (1 rank, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR SDRAM
Memory Speed PC3200 (200 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh

Memory Timings:
@ 200 MHz 3.0-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
@ 166 MHz 2.5-3-3-7 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
@ 133 MHz 2.0-2-2-6 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)

Memory Module Features:
Early RAS# Precharge Not Supported
Auto-Precharge Not Supported
Precharge All Not Supported
Write1/Read Burst Not Supported
Buffered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
Registered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
On-Card PLL (Clock) Not Supported
Buffered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Registered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Differential Clock Input Supported
Redundant Row Address Not Supported

[ DIMM2: CEONM42565340 ]

Memory Module Properties:
Module Name CEONM42565340
Serial Number None
Module Size 256 MB (1 rank, 4 banks)
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR SDRAM
Memory Speed PC3200 (200 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 2.5
Error Detection Method None
Refresh Rate Reduced (7.8 us), Self-Refresh

Memory Timings:
@ 200 MHz 2.5-3-3-8 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)

Memory Module Features:
Early RAS# Precharge Not Supported
Auto-Precharge Not Supported
Precharge All Not Supported
Write1/Read Burst Not Supported
Buffered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
Registered Address/Control Inputs Not Supported
On-Card PLL (Clock) Not Supported
Buffered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Registered DQMB Inputs Not Supported
Differential Clock Input Supported
Redundant Row Address Not Supported


Memory Timings:
CAS Latency (CL) 2.5T
RAS To CAS Delay (tRCD) 3T
RAS Precharge (tRP) 3T
RAS Active Time (tRAS) 7T
Row Cycle Time (tRC) 10T
Row Refresh Cycle Time (tRFC) 12T
Command Rate (CR) 2T
RAS To RAS Delay (tRRD) 2T
Write Recovery Time (tWR) 3T
Read To Write Delay (tRTW) 4T
Write To Read Delay (tWTR) 1T
Write CAS Latency (tWCL) 1T
Refresh Period (tREF) 166 MHz 7.8 us
DQS Skew Control Disabled
DRAM Drive Strength Normal
DRAM Data Drive Strength 4 (No Reduction)
Max Async Latency 8 ns
Read Preamble Time 7.5 ns
Idle Cycle Limit 16
Dynamic Idle Cycle Counter Enabled
Read/Write Queue Bypass 8
Bypass Max 4
32-byte Granularity Enabled

Error Correction:
ECC Supported, Disabled
ChipKill ECC Not Supported
RAID Not Supported
DRAM Scrub Rate Disabled
L1 Data Cache Scrub Rate Disabled
L2 Cache Scrub Rate Disabled

Memory Slots:
DRAM Slot #1 512 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
DRAM Slot #2 256 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 05:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

lol thats a lot more than the relevant stuff.. but you can see why i'm confused. the 512mb seems to have 2 different timings... so i have no idea whats going on.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 06:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default

how will i know what ram is dual channel and which ram isnt, and by the way whats the basic diffrence?

also, whats the pc number of ram i need to have (eg. pc3200) and what about the mhz, does the mhz have to be the same, because iv seen some ram sticks but they all diffrent, like 400mhz and 200mhz etc

so hopefully you and maybe someone else can clear up the confusing parts, ill leave that bit to you guys i guess hehe :s.

i havent really got a budget price but as long as its good ram from pcworld.co.uk then it should be ok, i choose pcworld.co.uk by the way because theres a superstore about 20 minutes from my house so i can buy it from the actuall store and if anything goes wrong ill just take it back easily

thanks in advance
oxygenuk is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 12:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

dual channel works with 2 identical sticks of ram. there is no difference b/w dual channel and regular ram. if you buy it in a package, then those 2 sticks of ram are guaranteed to work in dual channel. i don't know how it works exactly, but if you have your ram in dual channel mode, the effective speed is.. doubled? not sure.. all i know is better performance.

you should look for Pc3200 DDR400 ram for your computer. the actual speed of this ram is 200mhz.. but since its "ddr" (double data rate..) the EFFECTIVE speed is 400mhz.

..and since your mobo doesn't support dual channel, don't worry about it.

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/sto...ory_oid=-23888

buy something like that. replace the 256mb stick. it would help if someone else gave their opinion on the matter.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.