ram upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2006, 12:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default ram upgrade

Hey my pc is 600mhz celeron, currently running winxp professional. I have 128mb of ram, 2x64mb sticks. I can get 256mb of pc100 sdram. My question is will 256mb+64mb of ram make my pc that much faster than compared to 128?
__________________

davegibbon87 is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

definetly , but if i were you i would seriously consider installing win2k pro. cuz winxp doesnt run all that great on such slow processors
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 03:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Ive got win XP on my p3 and my p2, all you gotta do is tweak it a bit. Run 98 themes and disable useless services etc.
It would make a difference, but what I would adise (if bedget permitting) is getting a 512MB to put in addition to your 64MB.
01100100 is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default

My MB can only support 512ram. I will install 2000(i like it more anyway) HAve any idea what kind of increase im gonna see in speed?
davegibbon87 is offline  
Old 03-10-2006, 08:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

What kind of mobo do you have ?
__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy¬Ö
JohnnyX is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 12:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default

i have a celeron 900 and there was no noticable difference from when i went from 128 to 512 :| but i rekon get the 256 as some programs use alot of memory(if its good value).

-Mark
Mark_Morgan is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 09:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Basically, your computer will use less virtual memory if you increase your RAM. It speeds your computer up because you are avoiding the constant transfer of data to and from your hard drive (which is slow in comparison to RAM speed). In short, you will have a significant difference when you are running a few programs, but if you run a whole lot of programs, or you run some very big programs, there won't be much of a difference.
01100100 is offline  
Old 03-11-2006, 06:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Ok thanks alot, im finally thinking its time to put this comp to rest
davegibbon87 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 05:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default

no problem
__________________

01100100 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.