RAM Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2015, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 11
Default RAM Upgrade

Hi,

Currently I am running a AMD A8-6600K APU with 8GB of single-channel DDR3. It performs quite well, but I heard that running the RAM in dual-channel increases performance. Is this true and worth upgrading?
__________________

marknzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

Not worth upgrading at all, Yes it will speed up slightly but only time you would notice it is if you were benchmarking your system, In common uses it will almost never even be noticed and isn't worth the price just to get duel channel
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 11:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
Not worth upgrading at all, Yes it will speed up slightly but only time you would notice it is if you were benchmarking your system, In common uses it will almost never even be noticed and isn't worth the price just to get duel channel
Doesn't dual channel actually noticeably help quite a bit in APU systems? I remember c0rr0sive making posts about it in a thread.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2015, 12:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

This is more MHO but with DDR2 it did but with the speed of DDR3 the difference isn't that much.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2015, 01:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
This is more MHO but with DDR2 it did but with the speed of DDR3 the difference isn't that much.
Here's the thread for reference:
Please Help with AMD Kaveri Driver Issue (A8-7600)
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2015, 01:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

It's more speed and raw bandwidth combined, and it only helps the iGPU. Going from say 1600 to 2400 in dual channel decreases the memory bottleneck on the iGPU. If the OP is using a dedicated GPU then it's pointless.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2015, 01:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
It's more speed and raw bandwidth combined, and it only helps the iGPU. Going from say 1600 to 2400 in dual channel decreases the memory bottleneck on the iGPU. If the OP is using a dedicated GPU then it's pointless.
Noted.

We'd need to know the rest of OP's specs.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2015, 01:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Noted.

We'd need to know the rest of OP's specs.
It's not that big of a difference, but when you're running low end 5fps increase or such is still welcomed but IMO not worth the cost of high speed RAM in a low end rig.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2015, 03:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

May not be worth it to us, but it could be worth it to someone with a low-end rig that can't use a good dedicated GPU and has to depend upon his iGPU. 5FPS can be all one needs for things to smooth out on the ultra low end like that.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2015, 03:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
May not be worth it to us, but it could be worth it to someone with a low-end rig that can't use a good dedicated GPU and has to depend upon his iGPU. 5FPS can be all one needs for things to smooth out on the ultra low end like that.
But like I said, it's almost pointless to spend the extra cash on high end RAM to get the speeds. Might as well deal with it and save at that point.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade CPU/RAM or to not upgrade? relikpL System Upgrades 10 12-03-2010 02:42 AM
CPU upgrade or RAM upgrade klein1jo System Upgrades 12 01-01-2007 10:45 PM
upgrade proccessor or upgrade ram? j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-11-2006 07:16 PM
RAM is RAM is RAM? star_topology Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 04-29-2005 04:04 PM
Ram and ram and ram supbro Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-19-2004 05:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.