Ram upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2013, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Default Ram upgrade?

I have a rc4107ma-rs2h mobo which ive looked up that can take 2GB of Ram i have 512mb in both slots (DDR2) i want to buy two STICKS OF 1GB Ram to make it 2GB but not sure what is the best an highest frequency that's compatible. I have CPU-Z Installed but still dont know. Thanks
__________________

chod25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 06:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Ram upgrade?

2 1GB sticks of 667MHz.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 06:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Ram upgrade?

Looks like 533 or 667 DDR2 ram is it (PC2-6400)

http://www.foxconnchannel.com/Produc...U=en-us0000317
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Default Re: Ram upgrade?

mine says on CPU-Z max bandwidth PC2-5300 (333 MHZ) dont know if its just the Ram thats already installed is the max
chod25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 06:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Ram upgrade?

DDR = double data rate. You double the base frequency so 333 is right on the money. DDR2 667 = PC2-5300. Like I said, 2 1GB sticks of 667.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 06:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Default Re: Ram upgrade?

Ok mate thanks, all desktop ram sticks are all the same aint they?
chod25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 06:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Default Re: Ram upgrade?

meaning to slot into place, they are all 240 pin with same slotting in position? i just dont want to wast my money buying them 2 1GB sticks and it wont except
chod25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 07:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Ram upgrade?

NO not all the same.

Read the link:
Upgrading Desktop Memory - PCWiki
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 07:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Default Re: Ram upgrade?

looked at link mine only has 1 split separating the ram chip
chod25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 07:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Default Re: Ram upgrade?

out of the three pics mine look like the middle pic of your link with the 2 DDR pics
__________________

chod25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.