RAM Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2011, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default RAM Upgrade

Looking to fill my system out with the max supported RAM (16gb). However im wondering how effective 16 gigs is going to be. I have a feeling that because each stick is 4gb its going to be slower than a 2gb stick. I dont believe i have any programs that will utilize all 16GB. Im running Windows 7 x64 on an AMD platform that supports 1066/1333/1600(O.C.). Thats my thoughts... Now heres my question. Will 8GB (4 x 2gig) be faster than 16GB (4 x 4gig)? If you need extra information feel free to ask. Thanks!
__________________

SubFusion is offline  
Old 10-28-2011, 07:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

It depends upon what your doing. If your just gaming or doing light duty work then 8GB is plenty. If your doing some heavy duty work like 3D Rendering or a lot of Video/Image editing or other similar tasks then 16GB could be useful.

Will 8GB be faster than 16GB? They should operate about the same unless your doing the type of tasks I've already mentioned and then the 16GB will help you run faster just because you won't be using the page file as soon or as often.

16GB will stress the memory controller harder than 8GB will and 4GB is even less stress. The less stress the less heat.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-28-2011, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

Im talking current games, Battlefield 3, WoW, Starcraft 2, Crysis 2, Diablo 3 (SOOON!). And occasionally 3DVia/Solidworks, for work. So the 8gigs would do it for me? Im running 4gig now on x64 Windows 7 and i know its designed to run on 8... but will there be a difference from 8gigs vs. 16gig for how ill be using them? I almost feel that 16gigs would be slow(er) unless like salymate said that i had programs that would utilize all 16 on a regular basis.

Also on a related note, i remember seeing articles about OC'ing your RAM on AMD platforms. If i remember correctly the issue is that AMD mem controller supports up to 1333 only... so in order to get your 1600 ram to run at 1600 you need to tweak them in the BIOS. Anyone have / know of a good guide? Thanks again!
SubFusion is offline  
Old 10-29-2011, 12:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 70
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

Like Slaymate said, 8GB is more than enough for gaming. As far as the AMD memory controller thing goes that depends on your motherboard, not your processor. Lets say your motherboard's standard is 1333 and you shove a 1600 in there. It will not run at 1600. Overclocking your ram is an option but personally I have never done it before.
Overclocked_Keyboard is offline  
Old 10-29-2011, 01:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

It is dependent on the proc, id like to know how you were taught otherwise. It does depend on your board, yes, but if your proc doesn't support it, your losing out on the 1600. The i7 and Phenom 2 x4 don't natively support 1600 (officially). A simple search on toms-hardware will clear that up for you. .

Back to my question. Ive been able to find a good overclocking guide for AMD platforms. Anyone have a suggestion for RAM that works well with AMD? Im running 4gb of GSkill Ripjaws 1333 right now. And from what Ive read AMD doesn't care for Ripjaws all that much. Anyone have any experience with a good brand / model of RAM for an AMD platform? Thanks!
SubFusion is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 06:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default Great deal!

I'm looking at this http://e.newegg.com/servlet/cc6?gLmkQBWDQTTDVLjpJjhILjlkUSWxnuHptQJhuVaVSYVy0w 9382X30eVolli%3A%2F%2FOOOQgLOLnnQJhu%2FyjhKmJl%2Fy jhKmJlQHkizf%3FblLu%3DvCTGSACTRSWCWTS%25TAguXuJ%3D Gf8qE9SSRTSS%25TAJuXuuJ%3DGf8qE9SSRTSSqXqpgKLzfqXq blLuqXqTRqSWCqWTSVXLX and I'd like to know if I'm better off spending 30$ more for a higher performance model. Thanks!
SubFusion is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: RAM Upgrade

that url just goes to a error page
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-02-2011, 09:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubFusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 155
Default

Crucial Ballistix sport 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory Model BL2KIT51264BA160A

its on newegg. One if their guerilla deals. 40$ Should I buck up the thirty extra.bucks for a set of ram that isn't thrown on the discount list (for a reason I'm guessing)
__________________

SubFusion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade parts or to upgrade a whole new rig? Bekay523 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-07-2010 01:27 PM
Want to upgrade to dx10 card...should I upgrade anything? ShifterControl New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-21-2007 05:37 PM
upgrade proccessor or upgrade ram? j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-11-2006 07:16 PM
hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? dartgande New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-17-2006 03:36 AM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.