RAM upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2007, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default RAM upgrade?

Ok... So I bought a gig of ram a while ago (2x 512 sticks), and I still have my old 256 chip in there. Now, my mobo can take more than just the 1 gig of ram. I'm wondering if I can stick the 2 512's in, and then put the 256 stick into the other RAM slot... Yes? No? Suggestions? Thanks .
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You can but it will make your system run in single channel. If the 256 is also a slower speed, it will slow down your newer sticks.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 04:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default

So... would 3 256 chips work faster than the 2 512's? Or should I just not put the 256 in?
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

You can have two identical sticks in dual channel and have another size stick in another slot. It will be better than just 2x512mb.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 05:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default

Sorry... Still not getting it

I would have 2 512's in one channel, and 1 256 in the other channel? What would happen then?
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 06:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

All the memory would work but you would not be able to run dual channel therefore it would run in single channel. (must be in pairs)
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.