RAM speed and Hyperthreading confusion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2006, 06:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to Tymetwister
Default RAM speed and Hyperthreading confusion

I'm building a low-cost system, and the Biostar motherboard I got said that the DDR standard on it was PC3200 (DDR400), so that's the speed I ordered.

The CPU will be the Intel Celeron 2.00Ghz/400 FSB. When I called Biostar tech support, they said that the PC3200 memory I got will only run at 266Mhz (equivilent to PC2100), because of some limitation of the CPU, and if I wanted my memory to run at 3200 I would need to get a CPU that supported Hyperthreading.

The thing I can't grasp is, does everyone need a CPU with Hyperthreading to get their memory to run at 400Mhz? I thought PC3200 was becoming more of a standard now, and I didn't see many chips that had the Hyperthreading technology, and I can't imagine that no one is achieving PC3200 speed without one of those CPU's.

Can anyone help clear this up for me?
__________________

Tymetwister is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 11:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

Mostly the hyperthreading is on the Intel Pentium 4's form the 6XX series and up ( i think.. Fix this if i am wrong) but anyways that CPu is old i don't know how old it is but it came out a while ago and that might be hte problem. If i was your i would look for reviews on that Cpu.
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 11:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Thats wrong. It depends on the FSB.

Dual channel DDR400 will need a FSB of 800.

FSB = 200Mhtz

Single DDR = 200Mhtz
W/ DC DDR = 200Mhtz x 2 = 400Mhtz
Quad pumped FSB = 800Mhtz

If you have a FSB of 400. Divide by two and thats your speed.
turtile is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 11:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to Tymetwister
Default

So, turtile, I'm a little confused... are you saying that with a CPU that has a FSB of 400Mhz, that my memory can only run at 200Mhz tops?
Tymetwister is offline  
Old 04-08-2006, 01:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Unless you tweak the FSB, yes.
turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.