Which RAM should I get? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2008, 11:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default Which RAM should I get?

I'm getting a new computer with this mobo: Newegg.com - ASRock X48TurboTwins-WiFi LGA 775 Intel X48 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards and I am looking at either of these:

Newegg.com - OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

or

Newegg.com - CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Which should I get? Keep in mind that one is $35 cheaper than the other.
__________________

LynchHung is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Which RAM should I get?

It depends, if you want to overclock your ram get the corsair for the higher timings. If you're not going to overclock your ram, then get the OCZ, because it has lower and better timings.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Which RAM should I get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
It depends, if you want to overclock your ram get the corsair for the higher timings. If you're not going to overclock your ram, then get the OCZ, because it has lower and better timings.
Yeah, OCZ's have the lower timings but your mobo supports DDR3. You could get something like this for $180:

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

But then again thats $100 more than the cheapest (and still great) ram you indicated in your first post. Im just giving you an option. In the end you would be better off with the OCZ's.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 04:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Which RAM should I get?

It might be wise to choose a different motherboard if you still can, one that is either DDR2 or DDR3, not both. The reason is there can sometimes be issues with boards that support both - it has happened before.

Personally i would get the OCZ Reapers, or go some G.Skill, those Dominators arent worth it IMO.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
RAM Question b0bby System Upgrades 9 04-21-2008 11:32 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.