RAM questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2005, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default RAM questions

I was thinking of replacing my two 512mb sticks of PC2100 RAM with two 512mb sticks of PC3200 RAM. I am running these in a dual channel configuration. This will cost me approx. $80. Will I be able to notice a significant increase in performance?


Also, I think I may have asked this before and I guess I could just test it and see. But, since I'm here I'll ask the question. Is two 512 sticks ran in a dual channel configuration better than 1gb ran single channel?

The bottom line here is I always try to do some kind of system upgrade around Christmas and the first of the year due to everyone getting me tech store gift cards. These are my system specs. What would you upgrade (keeping $$ in mind, the gift cards won't amount to much)?

Athlon XP 2800+ Barton OC'ed to 2.2ghz (I know it will do more but I'm not one to push it)
1- 80gig WD HD w/8mb cache
1- Seagate 20gig HD
1 gb PC2100 RAM in dual channel configuration (2x512)
Geforce FX 5200 128mb DDR video card (It is OC'ed also)
Soundblaster PCI128 sound card
__________________

gospel is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 11:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to dms0813
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

are good if your not oc'ing. but yes duel channel is better then a 1gb stick. if you plan to oc your ram try ocz
__________________

dms0813 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 06:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dms0813
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

are good if your not oc'ing. but yes duel channel is better then a 1gb stick. if you plan to oc your ram try ocz
Thanks for the info and link. That is a good price.
gospel is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 07:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

video card would be where I'd upgrade. Head on over to e-bay and look for a new/like new 6600GT.

Ryan

edit: you said tech gift cards, so maybe e-bay won't be your thing, but you need a new video card. I think best buy still carries cards like that... it costs an arm and a leg. If you can though, find yourself a way to get a good video card.
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.