ram questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2006, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default ram questions

I'm adding some ram. I know I need 184 pin pc3200, what I have now runs as low as 2 cas. How do I figure out if I need dual channel? My motherboard is nvidia nforce.
I was looking at a 1gb stick that is 400mhz, but what I have now is only 200 I believe. Can I use that or not?
__________________

tailgunn is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Use CPU-Z (google it) to find out about the ram. PC Wizard 2006 has even more options.

DDR400 (PC3200) runs @ 200.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

what.... how can you find out if you NEED dual channel....... We @ TF cannot answer that.

Do you WANT it? And will your board SUPPORT it..

Usually in the POST it says:Memory Running in Single Channel Mode
(dont quote me on that)

something like that should appear. To also verify, open your computer up and see if the ram slots have different colors to them. This would be a good indication of dual channel support. Even better, whip out the manual to the motherboard if its available to you.

And as a word of advice, get the same size sticks, same timings, and same speed, to up the stakes on dual channel compatibilty.

Your best bet is to get the same everything, including the brand.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 09:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

I used cpuz but I don't recall it saying anything about dual channel. I guess what I should have said is can I use dual channel? I don't really know what it is. I found a good deal on a 1gb stick but it's dual channel, and I have no idea if my board can support it. I'll have to look and see if I have a manual for the board.
What is POST?
tailgunn is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 11:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

As long as its DDR, it should work. Use pcwizard.

POST is when the motherboard checks all the components to see if they are working right (before the BIOS)
turtile is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 11:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

So, maybe I'm over-thinking this? As long as I get ddr it will work?

How come I've seen pc3200 that says it runs @ 400?
tailgunn is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

www.crucial.com checks your ram type and stuff.
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tailgunn
So, maybe I'm over-thinking this? As long as I get ddr it will work?

How come I've seen pc3200 that says it runs @ 400?
because 400mhz is the clockspeed.

400x8=pc3200=3.2gb a sec of theoretical maximum bandwidth
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

This crap is confusing. Any good places on the net that explain all this hardware stuff? clockspeed, bus speed, cas, ddr...
tailgunn is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

umm here.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.