ram question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2006, 04:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Question ram question

if a mobo only supports ddr 333 ram, does that mean if you put faster ram it'll clock it to 333mhz? or it won't accept the faster ram at all? because in some cases ddr400 ram is cheaper than ddr333...
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 04:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

most likely it supports more than just ddr333.. and no i doubt it would clock it down automatically.. highly doubt it
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

well ya it probably also supports like ddr266.. but i mean if ddr333 was the max.. (this one mobo i'm lookin at says ddr333 on it.. its a socket A mobo)
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 05:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

then i doubt it
Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 184
Default

The ram will automatically downclock to ddr333
royalk4 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

ah ok thx guys.

makes not sense then that they sell ddr333 ram for more expensive...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 08:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

It will declock. Just buy ddr400.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.