Ram question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2006, 02:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to kblueboi
Default Ram question

I'm thinking of upgrading the RAM on my computer from 512 to 1024. I have a Pentium 4 1.6 Ghz.

1) Will that extra RAM make a noticeable difference?

2) I noticed that there were different types of RAM. How can I find out what type of RAM I need? I looked under device manager, but it wasn't listed.
__________________

kblueboi is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 03:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Default

Installing more RAM is the best thing you can do to speed up your computer. If you have a custom built, you will have to look at the stick of RAM you have now. If it is from a mfgr (i.e., Dell, etc.), you can go to Kingston.com, or Crutial.com and go thru their process to find the correct one.
__________________

figero is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 04:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to Satan666
Default

yes getting more RAM helps big time and to find your info about your RAM you could get the program called everrest and it will tell you the specs of your RAM and your whole computer.
Satan666 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to kblueboi
Default

that was very helpful. thanks
kblueboi is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 12:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to kblueboi
Default

any recommendations on a particular type of RAM ?
kblueboi is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 03:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

no i thing u should make a new build, Pentium 4 1.6 Ghz is an ancient cpu. and not give u a good performance.
maroon1 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 07:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to Satan666
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
no i thing u should make a new build, Pentium 4 1.6 Ghz is an ancient cpu. and not give u a good performance.
Thats also true, you should get a new cpu if you have enough money. The best RAM i think is crucial and kingston.
Satan666 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 09:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by maroon1
no i thing u should make a new build, Pentium 4 1.6 Ghz is an ancient cpu. and not give u a good performance.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If P4 1.6 is ancient, then my (in sig) is prehistorical or something. But once I used 64 MB RAM with the same board and CPU, and improvement in performance was awsomeafter I upgraded to 448, I moved to XP, and it still holds relatively fast. I've also upgraded a lot of stuff since then, but with crappy CPU it impossible to get really good performance.

And for botom line: the more RAM - the better.
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.