Ram question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2010, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Ram question.

So before I had rebuilt my machine I had bought a 1GB 3200 DDR2 ram stick (generic CSX). It was uber cheap but the website was extremely unorganized (impossible to find exactly what you need (as I found out.)) Well I had accidentally bought the wrong type? the stick i had bought was 400mhz. Is my pc 333mhz only? Can i get this stick to work (overclocking?)

RAM
Memory
Type DDR
Size 1536 MBytes
Channels # Single
DRAM Frequency 200.9 MHz
CAS# Latency (CL) 3 clocks
RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD) 3 clocks
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 3 clocks
Cycle Time (tRAS) 8 clocks
Bank Cycle Time (tRС) 11 clocks
Command Rate (CR) 1T
SPD
Number Of SPD Modules 2
Slot #1
Type DDR
Size 512 MBytes
Manufacturer Samsung
Max Bandwidth PC3200 (200 MHz)
Part Number M3 68L6423ETM-CCC
Serial Number 420C0FD9
Week/year 48 / 04
SPD Ext. EPP
JEDEC #2
Frequency 200.0 MHz
CAS# Latency 3.0
RAS# To CAS# 3
RAS# Precharge 3
tRAS 8
Voltage 2.500 V
JEDEC #1
Frequency 166.7 MHz
CAS# Latency 2.5
RAS# To CAS# 3
RAS# Precharge 3
tRAS 7
Voltage 2.500 V
Slot #2
Type DDR
Size 1024 MBytes
Manufacturer Kingston
Max Bandwidth PC3200 (200 MHz)
Part Number K
Serial Number 7216E42B
Week/year 24 / 09
SPD Ext. EPP
JEDEC #2
Frequency 200.0 MHz
CAS# Latency 3.0
RAS# To CAS# 3
RAS# Precharge 3
tRAS 8
Voltage 2.500 V
JEDEC #1
Frequency 166.7 MHz
CAS# Latency 2.5
RAS# To CAS# 3
RAS# Precharge 3
tRAS 7
Voltage 2.500 V
__________________

Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 05-31-2010, 07:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Ram question.

You're running at 200Mhz, which is 400Mhz when considering you have DDR (Double Data Rate) RAM.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-31-2010, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Ram question.

You bought a DDR2 stick of ram and your PC uses regular DDR ram, is this what your saying?

If your answer is yes, then No you can't use it.

If your answer is no and they are both DDR2 or regular DDR then you should be able to use them but they will default to the slowest speed between them.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-31-2010, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Ram question.

yea i think he made a typo because pc3200 is ddr not ddr2. anyway like Slay said, the ram should just downclock itself.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 01:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Ram question.

Ya sorry guys i had too many numbers in my head at once. Its ddr ram but my issue is really that with the piece of ram I bought my pc won't even boot. I went through trial and error and it doesnt work in either slot with any or no other ram in. (I assumed it was the wrong ram because i'm new at this and really i spend more time reading and learning from the topics on this forum than contributing XD) I tried to rma it and basically because it runs for them when they test it it costs me a fee, shipping, and some BS so in total I get like $5 back so i can't return it. What are my options or suggetions for fixes if any or is this a great example of you get what you pay for in the world of electronics. I should have posted this on hardware troubleshooting.
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about ram. overlord20 Laptops and Notebooks 5 09-22-2009 11:45 AM
New Ram - Quick question mack Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-09-2008 07:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.