RAM Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2008, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default RAM Question

I have a Compaq SR1102BD. I am currently running:

Intel(R)
Celeron(R) CPU 2.53GHz
2.53 GHz, 504 MB or RAM

With Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2


I had purchased RAM before and it malfunctioned I opened PC and installed clamped both clips and proceeded to start up my PC. The PC started then turned off and continued this, Found out it does this when something isn't connected properly.

Me not knowing much removed the RAM and put it in the other way backwards this burnt it up, So I sent it back and got a refund.

This is the RAM I had purchased.
Newegg.com - Kingston ValueRAM 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 333 (PC 2700) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I talked to my uncle and he said it seemed that I did everything right. He also said he ordered his RAM from Memory upgrades, flash media, and usb storage at Crucial.com

They have a application that runs a scan and tells you the exact ram needed. So I ran the scan and I had purchased the correct ram. Now I look to purchase this RAM below and have him install it.
512MB, 184-pin DIMM, DDR PC2700 upgrades for Crucial Scanner Results HP-Compaq Gamila, Giovani, or Neon Motherboards Desktop/PC, CT409922 from Crucial.com

Does anyone see any problems? Or know what I did wrong?
__________________

b0bby is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: RAM Question

You could have gotten some bad memory, mabye fried it with static.
__________________

__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 08:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: RAM Question

What brand do you suggest?
b0bby is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 11:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: RAM Question

1.) crucial
2.)g.skill
3.)ocz
4.)corsair
5.)patriot/mushkin
6.)Kingston/buffalo

thats in order from best to worst IMO
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: RAM Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
1.) crucial
2.)g.skill
3.)ocz
4.)corsair
5.)patriot/mushkin
6.)Kingston/buffalo

thats in order from best to worst IMO

Best to worst? Hmm. What's that based off of? Overclocking ability? Stability? Would like to understand your logic.

Funny, Crucial Ballistix and Corsair Dominators are some of the best overclockers you can buy, OCZ's aren't great for overclocking and tend to come at higher latencies for a given speed, and my 4GB Patrior Viper Fin's run @ 4-4-4-12 800mhz 24/7 rock solid.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: RAM Question

my list does not run true for all models of these brands just most, and it is IMO.

The list is based on brand name reliability,performance, and ocing.

Again, this is in my experience with these brands, i have used all of them and this is how i grade them.

If you do not think this to be true make your own list with the brands you have used.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 05:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: RAM Question

With that computer, you could go with some value RAM from any listed in Luke's list. You're not going to get high performance out of a Celeron and that setup, but the extra RAM will help it along.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 06:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: RAM Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
my list does not run true for all models of these brands just most, and it is IMO.

The list is based on brand name reliability,performance, and ocing.

Again, this is in my experience with these brands, i have used all of them and this is how i grade them.

If you do not think this to be true make your own list with the brands you have used.
Not to get into a nit picking argument, but you can't really generalize RAM in one list. Theirs RAM for overclocking and gaming, theirs RAM you'd want to use in a server, then theirs RAM you'd want for your basic desktop that does day to day tasks. It just depends on the application.

In the real world, for a non-overclocked or gaming computer, you're going to be fine with any of the brands you listed, it's not really going to matter what one. Sure, you may have to RMA a bad stick, or you might get a bad OC'ing stick that's underperforming, that happends regardless of the RAM you use.

Like Trotter said, for his celly, he'd be fine with some value RAM. Kingston has a good series of ValueRAM that I've put into a few rigs for people over the years
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 07:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 89
Default Re: RAM Question

Yeah I agree with the Admin, doesn't really matter what you get in your case it's not going to be some big thing considering your specs. If you were super modding your rig I would consider Luke's List because his is pretty accurate.
__________________
http://s3.photobucket.com/albums/y65...=Signature.jpg
MB - ECS GeForce6100SM-M2 ATX AMD
CPU - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 3.0GHz
HSF - Alpine 64 CPU Cooler
RAM - Select 2GB PC-6400 DDR2
GPU - e-GeForce 8600 GT 512MB DDR2 PCIe
HD - Western Digital 320GB 7,200RPM SATA-300
PSU - RAIDMAX QUANTUM RX-700 ATX12V 700W SLI
OS - Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Ultimate
Monitor - Star Logic 20.1" Widescreen LCD
Speakers - Klipsch 2.1 THX
Case: RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP Black SECC STEEL ATX Mid Tower
tbsk8er04 is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 11:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: RAM Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
Not to get into a nit picking argument, but you can't really generalize RAM in one list. Theirs RAM for overclocking and gaming, theirs RAM you'd want to use in a server, then theirs RAM you'd want for your basic desktop that does day to day tasks. It just depends on the application.

In the real world, for a non-overclocked or gaming computer, you're going to be fine with any of the brands you listed, it's not really going to matter what one. Sure, you may have to RMA a bad stick, or you might get a bad OC'ing stick that's underperforming, that happends regardless of the RAM you use.

Like Trotter said, for his celly, he'd be fine with some value RAM. Kingston has a good series of ValueRAM that I've put into a few rigs for people over the years

lol, have i ever said a lower end stick would be a bad choice, or a value ram set. No, like all i did was give him a list of reliable brands, ocing, and performance overall. This is for he can make a general decision of which brands to buy.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I get 4GB of RAM? Difficolt question.. Kdar New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-21-2008 03:17 AM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM
quick ram question solidsteve System Upgrades 3 03-04-2008 03:18 PM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.