Ram Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2007, 12:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default Ram Question

I've asked this question before but the person wasn't sure :/ But here's the thing, I heard that if I buy faster memory than what my mobo can support, it will underclock the memory and if that is true then I could buy ram and use it on my current rig but when I build a new one, I could also move it to that one. Is that true, that the memory just under clocks? Like if my current mobo only supports up to DDR2 533 and I put in 2GB of DDR2 800, it will work?

Another thing question, does ram like these require more juice to run which would mean I would have to up the mem voltage in the bios?

OCZ Technology | Products | Memory | OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper HPC Edition
__________________

Transerver is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Ram Question

The memory should overclock. The ram doesn't need addition voltage. Get some Crucial Ballistix instead.
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Ram Question

I'm not sure if it will downclock right away, but you could probably put it up to it's stock speed, through the BIOS.

They don't necessarily require more juice, unless you're really overclocking them. Just set them at manufacturer's spec, which for that set, is 2.1v

Agreed with peter, on getting the Ballistix instead.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default Re: Ram Question

Yeah the thing is, I like buying all my parts at the store since I can return then quickly if I don't like them or if they don't work. I'm pretty limited on selection
but here are some that go on sale frequently at the store I buy my parts from, which would be best out of the selection? I only see the budget Crucials so I guess I'd choose from these.

well there's that reaper one and
Welcome to Corsair :: XMS2 Product Information
OCZ Technology | Products | Memory | OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Special Ops Edition
OCZ Technology | Products | Memory | OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 SLI-Ready Edition Dual Channel
Patriot Memory - Products
Transerver is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Ram Question

The Corsair XMS2 CAS4, are quite good.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default Re: Ram Question

o ok, thanks
Transerver is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 12:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Ram Question

they are not guaranteed D9's though....around a year and a half ago they were D9's always
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default Re: Ram Question

D9's?
Transerver is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Ram Question

They're the chips used to make the memory, and are supposedly really good overclockers. High quality too.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 01:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default Re: Ram Question

O, well that wouldn't bother me, I don't OC
__________________

Transerver is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question using RadioButton in VB.Net punkin Programming 4 07-08-2007 11:20 PM
Mobo Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-28-2007 11:45 PM
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.