RAM question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2006, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
Default RAM question

So my current configuration has:

Motherboard: [DDR2] ECS C19-A SLI Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0 Dual PCI-E MB

Memory: 2GB (1GB x2) DDR2-667 PC5300 Memory

And I'm wondering if it's worth it (and if it's possible) to upgrade to 4GB of RAM. Will there be a significant and noticeable improvement performance wise to justify the ~$250.00? Is it even possible?

Deady is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 09:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
brinks's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144

Yes, you can get 4gb of ram.

NO, it is not worth it.

Some say that having 4gb of ram will actually lower the performance, but I don't know exactly why.

brinks is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 09:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

If you're using Windows XP 32 bit, then it will be pretty useless.

If you aren't, it would still make no sense unless you multitask at an exponential rate.
(i.e., in excess of fifteen Photoshop windows open)

Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 03:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180

for windows xp 2gigs i find is pretty max.
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 11:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: RAM question

ur board supports it, but its useless unless ur into CAD/3dsmax, and on top of that... to use the 4gb, u need a 64-bit OS
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.