Ram Quality Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2008, 03:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 117
Default Ram Quality Question

I haven't been able to find the answer to this question.
How big a difference if there is the cheaper ram memory (Kingston 1GB value ram) to more expensive brands?

I did read something on heat and overclocking.

Thanks
__________________

Tisoraku is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 04:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 42
Send a message via MSN to optimist4613
Default Re: Ram Quality Question

The speed will be much less for example if you look at the MHZ and XMS2 the MHZ is a lot lower. I would suggest going for the more expensive RAM. You then thus now its:
Good Quality
Quick
Reliable

You will not be worried at all! By the way corsair XMS 2 is awesome!
__________________

__________________
Dells are good for somethings bad for others! Not!
:freak:
optimist4613 is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 05:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 117
Default Re: Ram Quality Question

The value ram I have now is DDR2 667 (5300) and 800 (6400) I will be build another system soon and was thinking of moving these two into the new system and buying myself the newer ram memory, I never really found out why the value ram was less.

Looks like the value ram dropped by half in the last few months.
Tisoraku is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 06:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: Ram Quality Question

its all down to the quality

the cheaper sets of ram are good for bog standard builds as in not overclocking in a cheap - mid range builds

as for the mid to high range or ram they are generally faster and more reliable, for example i have 2x 1gb strips of ocz memory in front of me

the difference between these and my last pc ram is they have heat strips on them, they have a timing of 4-4-4-15 and thay also have a life time warranty

now the last lot han no heat strips and a 3 year warranty, they ended up frying a few months after the 3 year warranty

so your just paying for the reliability factors
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 05:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ivan chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 154
Default Re: Ram Quality Question

i went form 2 gigs of regular corsair DDR2 667 to corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 and it was such a boost i love XMS2

and ya it is good to throw that extra couple of bucks in for the quality stuff w/ lifetime warranty and not having to wworry about it
vs.
having cheap ram and it frying shortly after the warranty goes up so eventually you will bespending more on it (like SOLIDSTEVE said above)
plus if you get more expensive stuff usually it comes with a rebate so you will pay the same most of the time in the long run
ivan chaos is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 05:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Ram Quality Question

RAM really is worth it to spend the extra money on...
itll give you the most noticeable boost in performance with your PC if you buy a good amount of a good quality RAM...
as for your question as to whats the difference:
- heat dissipation
- speed
- quality
- reliability
- likelihood of errors
- timings
- overclockability
- warranty
- the actual chips in it
there are many things... i wouldnt risk it... get some good, warrantied RAM - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Ram Quality Question

agreed 100% with therascalking ram is important, so there is no point in cheaping out on the lower end chips. anyway ram has really gone down in price as of late, you can grabe 2gb crucial's 4-4-4-12 for like $48.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 117
Default

While here, anyone know what type of computer problem would cause everything to freeze and the screen to show a screen full of diagonal lines? It has happened a few times over the last few months, I have to restart to get everything back up and running. I think I will replace my current value ram with a higher grade, because I can use it for the simple new build while upgrading my own system, with the current drop in prices, I will end up paying less for better ram then I did for one stick of value ram.

I'm going to go look for a good brand of 6400 (800) ram.
Tisoraku is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Ram Quality Question

crucial ballistix is the best, followed by patriot, then ocz.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Ram Quality Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
crucial ballistix is the best, followed by patriot, then ocz.
dont forget G.Skill... - RK
__________________

__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell precision 650 workstation 1Gb ram trouble cmfugen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-16-2008 02:47 AM
Need help with ram identification s37d System Upgrades 5 02-08-2008 02:22 AM
New computer, tell me what you think! and one little question too rgoldberg1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-12-2007 10:19 PM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM
Question on hard drive quality? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-28-2007 12:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.