Ram Options - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2007, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Arrow Ram Options


I understand the difference between DD2 RAM speeds, But I have two options and I'd like to know which would be more preferrable.

I have 2 1GB sticks of 800Mhz ram
and 4 1GB sticks of 533Mhz ram.

I'm going to be running these with a core 2 duo E6600 and I am planning to overclock to about 3.6-3.8ghz.

Now which option would make applications and windows vista run smoother, the 4 gigs of 533 ram or 2 gigs of 800 ram?

If anyone knows of any benchmarks that have been done making a similar comparison, I would find that to be very useful.


UnkellSam is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Ram Options

The 2x1gb DDR2-800, will run better, because it's a bit faster. And that speed is good for overclocking. With DDR2-533, you won't get as far in overclocking, compared to DDR2-800.



b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 04:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
saltynay's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Ram Options

4gb of ram is only needed for professional applications e.g. large scale media editing and design programs C.A.D.
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 11:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3
Default Re: Ram Options

OK, I understand what you are saying,
but why do some people/sites, such as Legit Reviews - $185 Gaming CPU's: AMD 5600+ Versus Intel E6300 - AMD Versus Intel at the $185 Price Point,
run 4G of high performance RAM for testing, even with XP?

Many people seem to run 4G. Are they all wrong?

Reading my sig says OCZ, I started with XMS2 2x1G PC-6400C4.
It bit the dust, both sticks. Had to go to the local shop to get mem to keep running while wating for RMA.
Corsair is sending me new ones and I have been thinking of putting them in along side the OCZ and see what happens.
ecr111 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard Drive Image question carnageX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 26 04-13-2007 07:02 PM
Server Backup Options njozwiak Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 03-24-2007 12:31 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.