ram and mother board compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2005, 05:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Default ram and mother board compatibility

how do i manually cofigure RAM to run at 400 mHz so it goes with my motherboard?
__________________

fullmetal16 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Is the RAM PC3200 DDR400?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Default

nope its 500 mHz
fullmetal16 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 05:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Is it DDR500 or DDR2 500mhz?

If you pop the stick in provided that its DDR500 184 pin and not DDR2 500 240 pin then it will automatically clock down to the 400mhz speed or the lowest speed stick installed in the PC.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Default

sweet thanks
fullmetal16 is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

So I take it that its DDR500 184 pin.

Your Welcome.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 03:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Default

o lol yea its a 184 pin
__________________

fullmetal16 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.