RAM Making me MAD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2008, 08:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default RAM Making me MAD

Sorry guys i'm not to good on computer hardware but thought it couldn't be that hard installing more RAM. So i instaled it turned computer on, loud long beep about 5 seconds then on a continuous loop untill i turned computer off. Took out new RAM. Still the same problem! Was working fine untill i started messing with it. Any suggestions greatly appreciated.
__________________

chrome247@hotmail.co is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 08:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: RAM Making me MAD




It sounds like a memory error. Try them in different slots. Or try the new RAM by itself.

Another option would be testing it, with a program called Memtest.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: RAM Making me MAD

tried changing all the RAM about tried the 2 originals in different slots, tried the new one on its own, tried one old one in different slots tried the other old one in different slots. Still same problem with all combinations. Can't try any programs as computer turns on but the monitor doesn't start.
chrome247@hotmail.co is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 09:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: RAM Making me MAD

You can also try resetting the CMOS on the motherboard(Your motherboard manual should cover this).

But most likely you're going to have to return that RAM stick, for a replacement.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 01:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: RAM Making me MAD

yeah that new ram is out and it still not working. it comes on but with the intermitent beeping but the monitor doesnt come on.
chrome247@hotmail.co is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 11:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: RAM Making me MAD

it is the right type of ram right-your not trying to shove ddr2 into a ddr slot?
the_patriot2008 is offline  
Old 01-08-2008, 09:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: RAM Making me MAD

Also make sure that the RAM is supported by your motherboard. Check your motherboard manual
__________________

Andyf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Overclocking Ram problem Higach Overclocking and Modding 1 01-05-2008 02:06 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.