RAM, keep 256 stick with 1gb stick? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2007, 10:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 33
Default RAM, keep 256 stick with 1gb stick?

Hey, I recently got a 1gb stick to replace the two 256 sticks I had in before. The 256 sticks happened to be pc2700 and pc3200, so of course I was running at the lower speed... The 1gb stick is pc3200 and Im wondering if I should put the 256 pc3200 stick back in to make it 1.25GB total or if it would be better to just keep the 1 stick in there. Would speed be affected at all because of the varying sizes or does it not matter in regards to that? Thanks
__________________

Zatio89 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: RAM, keep 256 stick with 1gb stick?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zatio89 View Post
Hey, I recently got a 1gb stick to replace the two 256 sticks I had in before. The 256 sticks happened to be pc2700 and pc3200, so of course I was running at the lower speed... The 1gb stick is pc3200 and Im wondering if I should put the 256 pc3200 stick back in to make it 1.25GB total or if it would be better to just keep the 1 stick in there. Would speed be affected at all because of the varying sizes or does it not matter in regards to that? Thanks
if ur mobo is compatible with the ram, the pc3200 will pushed down to pc2700 speeds............
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: RAM, keep 256 stick with 1gb stick?

The speed would only be affected, if the speeds of all the sticks installed, vary. Since you're wanting to put the 1gb and 256 PC3200 sticks together, they both will run at PC3200. Having 1.25GB of RAM wouldn't hurt.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: RAM, keep 256 stick with 1gb stick?

alright thanks
Zatio89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB stick not recognized by XP 220volt Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-29-2007 02:52 AM
RAM Trouble TomsBadLuck11 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 06-27-2007 10:21 AM
Selling Kind of Broke Hacked PSP w/2gb mem stick and Tekken game! Sora Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 05-29-2007 01:52 AM
USB stick won't create a drive Reenen Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-04-2007 05:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.