ram-izzle - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2006, 09:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to werdna35
Default ram-izzle

I've seen people post stats that say something like 2gb of RAM- 4 512 sticks or something like that. So could someone actually have 4 gb of ram? They would just need 4 1gb sticks. Does it work that way or am I oversimplifying?
__________________

werdna35 is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 09:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

yes thats how it works... and it is possible to have 4gis of ram.. but for now its not recommended as its considered too much, until the release of windows Vista, which apparently its able to handle a lot more memory... whereas windows xp 32bit edition can only handle upto 3gbs or something....
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 09:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to werdna35
Default

oh, ok. So it is possible to do, but as of right now, operating systems can't handle that much?

For my second question, which mobo's have the space for 4 sticks of RAM?
werdna35 is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 09:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

All Standard ATX mobos have 4 RAM slots that can hold up 4GB, 8GB, or 16GB I think.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 02:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
The Napster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my car
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to The Napster Send a message via MSN to The Napster
Default

the standard is 4 slots.

here is a list of the os ram limits

Win XP= 4gig ram limit
Win x64 = currently limited to 128gig physical and 16TB virtual. Will support even more when hardware supports it. Theoretically 64 bit will support up to 18 billion gig ram. (HOLY @$#%)
Win Vista 32 bit = 4gig limit
Win Vista 64 bit home basic = 8 gig
Win Vista 64 bit home Premium = 16 gig
Win Vista 64 bit business/enterprize/ultimate= 128 gig (insane)
Win 98 = 512 mb
Win 2000 = 4gig
win 95 = (unknown) around 512mb
Linux 32 bit = 3gig

some mobos have 6 or 8 slots for ram, but obviously you cant fill them all up with 2 gig sticks without the proper hardware and OS.
__________________
DFI infinity RS 482
3Gig Corsair PC 3200
AMD X2 4400+ 2.4ghz
250Gig Samsung SATA 3.0 7200rpm
250Gig Hatachi SATA 3.0 7200 rpm
60Gig Maxtor ATA 5400 rpm
2x160Gig WD SATA 7200 rpm RAID-0
ATI X850XT 256mb
Antec TruePower 430
The Napster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.