Ram and its compatability - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2006, 02:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default Ram and its compatability

OK:

In the first of my two ram slots I have:

512mb ddr sdram running at 132.9 mhz(166 max) which is pc2700

cas latency = 2.0

I want to add 512 mb more. I have found on newegg this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820221010

it seems the same basically, but with higher cas latency. is lower or higher cas latency better?

However, must my new piece of ram be the same, must it run at same frequency and be pc270?

OR am I safe adding some higher-quality ram. And if I get higher quality ram, will it really make much of a difference, than if I got what's in the link up there?

thank you very much.
__________________

nigy is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 02:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

it should work. you need to check ecc..what mother board you using?
__________________

__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 02:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You can add a slower stick (speead and latencies) but your other stick will be underclocked to match the slowest stick. It is better to have lower latencies, but tbh. you will not see a benefit until you overclock.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

I dont plan to overclock it. My computer is a dell (cough) so according to Cpu-z: model: 0g1548 i845g chipset, hm.

well, so apparently if I buy a fast stick, It will be underclocked to match the slower stick, so I guess Im better off saving twenty bucks and getting the same kind as before.

so, is cas latency 2 better than 2.5?

and is heatspreader worth it?
nigy is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 05:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

yes, 2 is better than 2.5


heatspreader looks somewhat cool. doubt if its worth it.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 11:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Heatspreaders are there purely to cover up the ugly ram sticks. There is absolutley no heat advantage to them.

And yes 2 is better than 2.5.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 08:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

Ok, then I will do that. I hear corair is good ram..so I will do that.
nigy is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 02:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 104
Default

I meant Corsair, but I found this at newegg (Ive decided to buy a full gig):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820211131

its the cheapest I can find, but that's ok.
__________________

nigy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.