RAM Interfering with CPU Fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2012, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default RAM Interfering with CPU Fan

I currently have 8GB (2x4GB) of RAM in my computer. I want to add 2 more sticks of the same thing to make it 16GB of RAM but I can't. This is due to my RAM interfering with my CPU Heatsink fan if I put one in the slot closest to the CPU. In other words I can only use 3 of the 4 slots. I need all 4. Im looking for advice on a good 120mm CPU Heatsink Fan that does well with overclocking and will be compatible with 4 sticks of my G.SKILL RAM. My current RAM and Processor models are linked below and I would like to keep the purchase for the CPU fan through the same website. Thanks!

RAM

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL

Processor

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOX
__________________

grunbold157 is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: RAM Interfering with CPU Fan

Well, I'm not too familiar with air cooling, but you could always go with a closed loop water system such as the H80/H100, that way you wouldn't have a fan right there. Or better yet, just grab another RAM kit such as this:

Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS3 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 Desktop Memory Model CMX16GX3M4A1333C9

I have that kit, and it's really good RAM. No big heat spreaders, either

Welcome to TF!
__________________

__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 08:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: RAM Interfering with CPU Fan

Ripjaws fit under my TRUE when I had my 955 and I ran with all 4 slots full so I'm guessing you must have a low profile kit.

Just a warning, your chip wont OC that high with all slots occupied unless you feed the NB more voltage.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 64 CPU Fans and CPU Fan Warning Harper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-10-2006 11:55 PM
No Cpu Fan/heatsink Voltage Out Of The 3-pin Mb Connector?? Cpu Cooling Solution? Johnny916 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 05-26-2005 11:33 PM
No Cpu Fan Voltage?? Fan Is Not Coming On?? Johnny916 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-26-2005 10:27 AM
CPU Fan to Case Fan? ACIDDROPPER Overclocking and Modding 1 09-04-2004 02:50 AM
System Fan and CPU Fan Bleep Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 11-13-2003 02:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.