Which RAM do I get? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2011, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Default Which RAM do I get?

My desktop is an ASUS CG5275-AR003. The specs can be found here: Newegg.com - Recertified: ASUS Essentio CG5275-AR003 Desktop PC Intel Core i5 650(3.20GHz) 8GB DDR3 1TB HDD Capacity Intel HD Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

If I understand correctly, I should be able to max my RAM out to 16gb of DDR3. Currently, it has 8gb. If this is true, then I believe I need 4 sticks, at 4gb per stick, totaling 16gb of max RAM that my desktop can handle.

Assuming I'm still on the right track, which RAM do I look for? Do I need to look for any particular Timing or Cas Latency, as I see those 2 details are mentioned when shopping on newegg for RAM. Which brands are really good ((that is capatible with my desktop)).

Thanks!
__________________

Shadoruu is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 07:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Which RAM do I get?

What are you using this computer for? Most people really don't need more than 8GB unless your doing some heavy workstation applications. For gaming 8GB is plenty.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 07:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: Which RAM do I get?

Heh, gold farming? J/j. Not much really, aside from some gaming when I find free time. I saw an opportunity to upgrade, I figured why not?
Shadoruu is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 08:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Which RAM do I get?

You won't ever need more than 8GB. Try upgrading other things.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 09:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: Which RAM do I get?

...and I will. This happens to be one of the areas I'd like to upgrade. I'm not trying to figure out what it'll be used for, if I need it, or even if it's better focused elsewhere. As the question was, I am only looking for what ram is best for my machine. If you must know, I'm looking at monitors too, but I didn't want to derail my own thread with that.

Sorry, I thought it was a simple question. Maybe I just worded it wrong.
Shadoruu is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 10:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Default Re: Which RAM do I get?

Thank you!
I've heard of that brand before, as well as an OCZ too. I'm unsure what makes it "good", but on newegg I do see things like timing and cas latency mentioned.
Shadoruu is offline  
Old 10-21-2011, 11:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Which RAM do I get?

OCZ has stopped it's memory line. I always used G.Skill RipJaws in the last 2 years. Always great.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-22-2011, 01:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Which RAM do I get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadoruu View Post
I believe I need 4 sticks, at 4gb per stick
I'd open up the side of your case and make sure you just have 2 sticks in there so you only need 2 more.
Would stink to buy 8GB and find you have 4x 2GB sticks in there currently.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadoruu View Post
Do I need to look for any particular Timing or Cas Latency
The fastest RAM will downclock to match the slowest ones installed. Generally though it seems like pre-builts use 1333MHz.
CAS shouldn't be a deciding factor, again generic pre-built it will probably be a standard 9.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadoruu View Post
Which brands are really good
Rough order I look at:
G.Skill, Corsair, Mushkin, Kingston/Patriot/Crucial/Wintec.
But, as far as I know, there aren't any really horrible RAM companies.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.